TimTravels - Berlin, Capital of Germany Part 1

in #photography7 years ago

Welcome my dear Steemian friends to a new episode of TimTravels.

Being busy with exams and teaching it's not that easy to travel but luckily I have holidays now. I took the opportunity to flee from bad weather and had a short trip to Berlin! Yes, the capital city of Germany. One thing is for sure, I already miss Berlin and I will let you know why.
Enjoy Berlin through my lens

Before I went out to take picture I checked in at the hotel a friend recommended me. I wasn't disappointed as the staff was very friendly and the hotel itself looked very neat. If you have the chance to get to Berlin it's worth to have a stay here.




I just took one step out of the hotel and the first thing that came to my attention was a piece of the old Berlin Wall. The Berlin Wall was a heavily guarded wall which divided Berlin from 1961 to 1989.


My first stop was the Berlin Victory Column. It's one of the main tourist attraction in Berlin and offers a great view over the city from its platform. On top of the monument you can see the statue of Victoria.


In order to get to the Victory Column you need to enter a tunnel. There is no pedestrian walkway on the street, similar to the Arc de Triomphe de l'Étoile in Paris.



Walking down the street you will get to the Brandenburg Gate, the gate which marks the start of the road from Berlin to Brandenburg. One of the best-known German landmarks. On the left side of the road there is another interesting monument you need to see.




And here we see the famous Brandenburg Gate





Let's get to the next famous landmark of Berlin, its Fernsehturm (television tower)! It's located at the Alexanderplatz and has a height of 368 meters and is the tallest building in Germany.





The streets are vivid and there is much to see. It doesn't matter where go you won't get bored. Remember the bubble shots I took in London? Well here are some from Berlin. I love these bubbles!



Here are some additional shots I took in Berlin




I hope you enjoyed todays episode of MyPictureSunday! Tomorrow will follow the announcement of the winners of the MyPictureDay contest and the second part of my Berlin journey! Have you been in Berlin? Tell us your experience!
Steem on!

Sort:  

Berlin is awesome :) So many parks and monuments to explore there! My advice: if you go out try to go into one of the clubs at the Alexanderplatz which has a terrace at top. Then party till the morning and wait for the sunrise. Did this with a friend on our interrail trip - it was amazing! Maybe I can find the pictures somewhere on my old laptop.
If you happen to travel to Austria as well --> There you could get a nice refresh after an exhausting city trip, check this mountain lake f.e.: https://steemit.com/nature/@theaustrianguy/a-beautiful-sunday-hike-to-the-laudachsee

Greets :)

Very nice. Good job

Thanks buddy!

Very nice journey through the city! Bubbles aren't always easy to photograph, but you captured and composed those those very nicely. And the architecture. :)

Honestly I just set my camera to burst mode and played with the focus. Was lucky to get a good shot :P Thanks for the feedback <3

Great post about a wonderful city! I love Berlin too. It is so rich and full of history. It's like jumping between the future and the past :)

Totally true!

Hey Tim,
good to see you visiting Berlin, I'am from Germany aswell and Berlin is still one of the most amazing cities here. Keep your eyes open, the most beautiful side of Germany is in the detail, not in the big buildings like the Eiffel Tower in Paris. Hope you will have a good time here in Germany, I am going on a journey to Spain, so hopefully ur posts gonna keep me up with my home country.

Wish you the best! :)

True

Thanks speedstudent!
Enjoy your trip to Spain, I will be in Greece this month. Can't wait. Wo aus Deutschland bist du?

Hallo timsaid !

gorgeous pics! Have a great day and enjoy your travel! Berlin is Great !

@kam.ila

It's nice to follow you guys, it's seems I'm travelling with you...by the way, very nice place in Berlin and greats shots as well, thanks @timsaid!

help me sir :( vote my post!!!!

I love Berlin! Main reason's the warm people there
very very friendly
plus the story written on every place
you always take amazing pics
and though I know you never bother to reply to any of my comments to your post I won't hold my thoughts back to thank you for bringing back beautiful memories I have on my last visit on that place
Did you go up the Fernsehturm ? There's nothing special to see but the experience and the food in the resto up there is superb and unforgettable. Though I'd rather spend the whole day going around the whole array of museums in the museum island I must admit that the most thrilling part of my last visit was going up Fernsehturm !

Wow, !!!!! very beautiful place. I really want to go there when I see your post. But for a vacation is very difficult for me.
Hopefully you are always healthy and can vacation anywhere
@Speedstudent @Timsaid

Thank you. Luckily I am healthy to travel the world. Best regards

There is nothing nicer than travelling, I really love the travelposts as it feels as if you are there with the people especially with such wonderful pictures. Thanks for taking us to Berlin really appreciate it.

Great to hear! Where was your last travel destination?

Awe-soooome! Perhaps you would be interested in my current travel challenge on the top of the promoted page .... :)

I had a look and indeed I will be traveling a lot the next weeks, sadly not on a location you gave us

Fortunately, as mentioned in the orginal post, anyone can take a photo at any famous location with the sign and be entered into the bonus portion of the challenge! I hope you do :):)

Great post that sets an examole how a post should be constructed. No too much text, not just images. Writing ia engading and images crative and well executed. I have learned from this about posting and about Berlin too. Which is good as i going there in September. Genuinely enjoyed the post it we effortless to read. By the way, what camera did you use, i love the colours. Might it be Sony?

Thanks for the feedback. It's a Nikon D750

Really great shots. Confused it to Sony, as image rendition is somewhat similar.

Awesome pictures, Thank you. I was in Germany before the wall came down and Bonn was the capitol then. So after a little research I found out that Berlin was the capitol of Germany until the end of WW2 and since Berlin is inside of East Germany they changed the capitol to Bonn....then when the Berlin wall came down and Germany reunified Berlin was renamed the capitol passed by a slim victory in votes. Nearly half of the government remains seated in Bonn which is now officially the Federal City or unofficially the Second Capitol. I thought that was an interesting side note. p.s. I enjoyed all of the many pictures you have included here, thanks again.

Youre photographys are special. Transferred Berlin very well.

Great to hear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51