Leaving home

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

crowtherspool01lr.jpg

The view from our kitchen window this morning

. . .

Tonight I am off to the United Arab Emirates.

I travel quite a bit for work. Not as much as I used to before I had a family, but still a fair bit. The truth is, I've had only a handful of jobs in the UK over the last 15 years since I left my job at a newspaper in London. Traveling abroad is unavoidable for me.

Eight years ago, I moved to rural Wales with my partner and I can say that it was the best thing we've ever done. Since then we have renovated a remote farmhouse in the hills and filled it with 3 awesome children.

. . .

I remember many years ago when I first started coming to Wales regularly, an old friend who'd been living here for a while took me aside and jokingly warned me.. "If you're not careful, this countryside will take away your ambition".

It took me a few years to start understanding what he was talking about.

Nowadays, it's something that is all too familiar to me... never more so than when it's time to leave.

@timothyallen

Sort:  

Congratulations @timothyallen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.
You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You live in an absolutely amazing location! I've to travel so far to enjoy the view like in your window.
Decisions, decisions...
When I'm looking out of my window I'm realizing my decisions weren't the best ones:

Where do you live?

The central part of Israel.

It looks hot where you are though. The grass is always greener on the other side as we say.

Hi @timothyallen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.944 which ranks you at #10842 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 966 places in the last three days (old rank 11808).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #193.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Nice to have somewhere like that to come home to. I have never made it to wales; it just never seems to be on the destination list. I am sure there is lots to explore there (as there is everywhere).

Wales is amazing. Really.

I will have to get there one day. Sail the coastline perhaps.

It looks beautiful there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64