Marina Bay Sands - The Shoppes Interior - Singapore - SteemitPhotoChallenge #7 Entry 3

in #photography8 years ago


The only dull thing to find in Singapore is the sky at times, otherwise, it's a feast for the eyes in any direction. It's true what they say about Singapore being clean... I found only an uncooked crab leg outside of a crab restaurant during a rain storm and I believe a scrap of paper near a trash can. This feeling is a bit utopian to me as I'm used to seeing chicken bones in the road near intersections, happy meal bags near stop signs and gum stuck on various hard surfaces. Honestly, it was a bit like make-believe or visiting a Disney park in that everything is just clean. This is my 3rd Entry for the Architecture challenge.

The organic lines in this structure reminded me of being in a tunnel, though I've never been in a glass tunnel quite like this. Shot with the a7r and my Zeiss 55 1.8 at 1/80 sec f8 ISO 200 - no tripod, just resting upon a rail or something I suspect.

It's interesting to reflect upon my lens choice here as I did have a 24mm with me, but I think it was too wide showing the shopes to the left. I prefer not to crop an image more than 5% as I've done here removing a few heads from below and getting my verticals at the end of the tunnel to be vertical. There aren't many vertical (straight up and down references in this image and I toyed with the idea of making the bottom of the window curve parallel to the bottom of the frame at the expense of the the verticals at the end of the tunnel.


(not Entry 3 - see above)
This is what I was checking to see would work or not... Almost, but the purists out there would be irked by the messed up lines. Coincidentally, the treatment to the image is where is what midway before tinting, glow, and darkening was applied for emphasis. I like the look, but not as contrasty and visually striking as the above image - at least for my taste.

I'm fairly certain one of the architectural spirals will place quite high as they are always popular in such competitions. Check out the work by @lgm-1

be well, Conrad ( @timelapse )

(verification link on my site: http://conradolivier.com)

#photography #steemitphotochallenge #architecture #singapore #marinabaysands

Sort:  

ah.... and I was wondering if I'll see more entries featuring Singapore. I was just there yesterday night.

lucky to live in such a food haven you are!

Sometimes we take it for granted but it's good to have a variety of cheap and not so cheap. :-)

Awesome. I wish I could take photographs like this.
💋 @halo 💋😇

Thank you - at least half the challenge is getting your camera in the interesting spots... timing is also important, but not so much for this type of daylight shot. No sun coming in directly is a factor plus diffused light from an often overcast city helps in some respects.
Uncropped/unedited version to show you where I began:

(I was kicking myself for not dragging a tripod along, but I was out for a walk around the bay surveying what there might be to see, when you find yourself without a tripod, you have to improvise or use a fast enough shutter speed that most camera shake is nullified. Without a special stabilized sensor, a normal person can hold a 1/60 sec shot steady enough to get a decent result... any longer than that and things get out of focus/blurred due to camera shake. Find a rail or lean against a pillar, tree, wall for stability.

Another excellent shot m8. you are a very talented photographer. always excellent composition and incredible technical skills. I doff my hat :-) im not sure if i should bother with any more entries with competition like this lol.

Ha you're cracking me up about not needing to enter... 4x5 Litho film sounds expensive. Appreciate the praise, but you're no slouch in that department either. To me, the best part about photography is that it is so multifaceted in that it takes you places, causes you to interact with people you might not otherwise be able to, pushes some of us to explore new avenues and creative techniques, materials and methods. In fact, I took an SLR to Costa Rica in 1991 or 2 and felt compelled to travel ever since that trip with a camera literally shaping who I am today. I recall looking it up in an encyclopedia to get a clue about it as I only had overheard some guys passing through the airport Miami talk about going there.

Just stunning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47