A million grey areas..

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

There’s a fairly famous quote out there, ‘Life’s not all black and white, it’s a million grey areas’

Now this quote speaks to me in the world of photography. I’m a profound lover of black and white images, although I mostly dabble in colour photography and portraits, monochrome images have a special meaning to me in the way of art. I’d have a whole house full of huge black and white prints if it was up to me.

Now why Black and white? Well it’s simple, I enjoy the ‘million grey areas’, the layers of an image really come to life when you take the distraction of colour out of the picture, pure contrast, depth, shadows and highlights, in a way it’s a way of stripping an image to a nakedness that shows every vulnerable details it contains, and to me, it’s art. Here’s a couple of my own personal images from my black and white archive.

I’d love to hear your thoughts!

(13).jpg(7).jpgdsc_0180.jpg

Sort:  

Nice pic..
I vote, reply and follow you . please vote ,reply and follow me .

Thanks for stopping by! Appreciate the love and I’m always happy to return the favour!

That first one, standing on the road, looking back with the suitcase in-hand. Fantastic. Wouldn't have worked as well in color, for sure.

In fact, I've gone ahead and included your post here in my new Top 5 Photos post I'm starting. I hope it helps to channel some votes your way. You deserve it. ;-)

https://steemit.com/wwtop5pix/@winstonwolfe/introducing-the-all-new-w-w-s-top-5-photos-of-steemit-001

Thanks so much! Means a lot that you featured me! Hopefully I can return the favour soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69