Picture Perfect? Or Not Picture Perfect?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

What do you see?

Pin-hole Mt Shasta.jpg

Everyone strives for that perfect “in living color” photo that is crisp and clear. To most that is how a photo should be. But for me, it’s not.

I developed a love for B&W when I took a college photography class. I was sorely disappointed, as was most of the class, to learn that we would only be working with B&W film. But that didn’t last long. As the semester went on, while most classmates were eager to move into the advance class where they could use color film, I was developing my love for B&W. By the end of the semester I was thoroughly hooked.

In the advanced class, while most students were working with color film, a few of us stuck to B&W. Everyone can take a color picture, but that just seems boring any more for me. To me, B&W takes one to another time and leaves the viewer to use their imagination filling in whatever colors they imagine. B&W also adds a bit of mystery to the photo, I think.

What I find fun about photography is that sometimes the photo doesn’t look quite like what you saw thru the lens.

When I saw this #bwphotocontest, I got excited because of my love for B&W and I like to see other people’s photos and creativity.

This photo is of Mount Shasta, which is in Northern California, where I live. It was taken in front of my house in the morning using a Nikon D3300 DSLR with a pin-hole lens.

Using a pin-hole lens is a lot of fun and as you can see, it can create unique, one-of-a-kind photos.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 07:46:22
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Awesome! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51