Another beautiful architecture lost in time: Haveli Fatehpur Shekhawati

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This post is really close to my heart, and why not,

I today proudly present this beautiful architectural gem 'Haveli of Fatehpur Shekhawati' from Rajasthan, India.

Rajasthan is the state I belong to! Beauty, food and innocense of Rajasthan has attracted millions of tourists over the years. I think it is one of the only states that managed to conserve most of its architectural integrity over so many years. There are a lot of famous forts and tourist spots there but then there are still some unknown or not so acknowledged places which deserve being known by the world!

One such place is the aforementioned Haveli ( Hindi word for a villa). How did I come across it? Everytime I go to Rajasthan I go to see my grandparents and we generally make a road trip from my hometown Bikaner to the village of my grandparents ( a place so remote you cannot find it on google maps. lol.) .And you go through the Fatehpur Shekhawati. So last December on one such trip, we decided to stop there to eat something. While my dad was driving towards the restaurant I caught a glimpse of this amazing ages old villa and well, now you all will as well.

So here we go

IMG_7763.JPG
My mom just casually photobombing the building! But just look at it, it just blew me away. Imagine the amount of work and love the sculptor put into this.

IMG_7757.JPG
This is the glimpse that I caught from my car. It looks like a ruined old ghost town from there. But wait till you see the art.

IMG_7760.JPG
So we enter from right here...

IMG_7764.JPG
Now this is the painting you see right above the door. Beautiful isn't it? But the most fascinating thing is that the golden parts that you see are in fact made with pure gold! Combined with the breath taking wood work, every detail says it's own story.

IMG_7767.JPG
When you enter you see this small hall (every room was made super small for some reason, but the amazing thing is that you feel plenty of air passing and a lot of light! That's the guy who gave us some details about the villa.

IMG_7771.JPG
You will notice, on all four doors the four designs are different from each other. Although each painted with the same heart, same love and same meticulously hard work. The amount of diligence this must have required, today we do not even want to vacuum our houses and look up robotic cleaners. LOL.

IMG_7784.JPG
There are very very rare moments when I see my parents being cute or take selfies. You know, young people stuff! But when I see it, I try to capture it. Now, on either sides of the wall you can see some tiny shelves, in older times when they did not use to have eletricity many such shelves would be used to place diyas ( A type of candle made of soil, you put a cotton wick and light it with oil) among other things.


Image of a diya.

IMG_7770.JPG
Through this door you enter a room. Now this was a villa meant for a very big joint family, so each such room was shared by parents and all the kids.

IMG_7780.JPG
Windows in the room.

IMG_7781.JPG
So this was the room. Let me explain about it. It was an extremely small space and mind you temperature in Rajasthan goes up to 49 degrees sometimes. So I asked the guy how on earth did so many people survive in one room. So he told me that the walls in the rooms were made of such a material which automatically regulated the temperature in the room. Keeping it cool in summers and warm in the winters! Talk about technology. Oh and hats off to the kids who shared a room with their parents. But then again it's not like they had to go through puberty like that. Why you ask? Well at that time and still in many parts of Rajasthan child marriage was a thing. I will not even go there right now.

Well that was all the accessible area. I am so happy to have shared this with you all today and yeah I am all choked up. I am so proud of where I come from because of such aspects of my culture.

Oh and last but not the least

A picture from my village!

IMG_7578.JPG
Dearest Desert, I LOVE YOU. Oh, and you as well mighty peacock.

Peace out.
Mona



Written by @things, 2017. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

You're right the building is absolutely beautiful. I am one of the curators for the OCD project and I just wanted to let you know that...

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or your nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

Thank you so much for this nomination! I am absolutely willing to share! I feel grateful for this! Proud to present this part of my culture.

Great! I will make sure it is nominated for consideration by the rest of the curators today!

Ah, thank you so so much!

great post i can feel like I'm almost there....

Thank you so much.

Great post babe. It looks absolutely stunning! Wish I was there :)

I actually made the pictures for you, and then forgot to show you, ahhaha.
Andddd Thank you.

Such an ass. Well, you're welcome you made the pictures for me :p

oh I miss india and all those beautiful architecture.

I miss India a lot as well. It's been so long.

Heyy really nice post:) It was verry useful.Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/history/@nakedchef89/what-is-the-oldest-civilization-on-earth

the architecture is stunning! xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54358.77
ETH 2293.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30