You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🚂 Steam Locomotives at Heiligenstadt Station, Vienna 📷

in #photography6 years ago

I never ran a steam engine, but I did run diesel-electric, both yard and road power, since I worked as a engine attendant for a while also, and the early diesel controls are somewhat similar to the steam controls, particularly the airbrakes.

Sort:  

My dad recently retired from railroad work, although he was an electrician for the facilities rather than directly involved in operating the trains. He kept the depot lights on, was on call when switch heater failed in the middle of nowhere, etc.

Where I worked in Canada at the CPR, that job fell under the B&B Department (Bridges and Buildings). They worked hand in hand with the Section Gangs. I know about "the middle of nowhere" - when I worked for the Car Department, we used to get called out to derailments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74