Part II - Climbing Starcheck

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Intriguing featured photo to increase post traffic haha (screenshot from the 3rd video below).
Screen Shot 2017-09-11 at 4.44.58 PM.png

If you haven't already, check out Part I - Rappel to Starcheck.
As detailed in the post linked above Nick, Valerie, and I decided to rappel down to the start of the climb instead of attempting to hike the "sketchy" approach trail that runs upriver for a couple miles. Upon seeing the terrain that the trail covered when we gained a higher vantage point, I'm really happy that we decided to rappel. You'll notice Valerie wave to someone on the trail in the second video below. You can't tell from the video but he looked really worried about trying to cross the steep, shaley sides of the riverbank/cliff in order to get to the climbs start. I don't blame him haha I wouldn't have tried to cross.

Anyways, climbing in Squamish, BC fulfilled a lot of firsts for our group. Valerie led her first multi-pitch climb (which happened to be Starcheck) and led the whole thing. I simul-climbed for the first time (in the videos below Nick and I are simul-climbing together on top-rope) and even simul-climbed with two good friends at the same time with no one belaying! (If this sounds crazy ask for more details in the comments.) Nick and I climbed the tallest route we had ever climbed, which was our first time climbing something taller than 2000 feet, or ~600 meters. I even experienced my first, and hopefully only, cam failure and took a big fall before the second piece below caught and held me.

Since I've got the footage for a lot of those other firsts I'll work on making posts for them in the future. But for now,...

Climbing Starcheck

The climb started right alongside the river.
GOPR0773.JPG

GOPR0763.JPG

GOPR0771.JPG

Valerie took the lead.

And then Nick and I followed her to the first belay station.

Valerie then decided to take the GoPro for the second pitch. It's cool watching the river get further and further below.

After a short third pitch that should really just be linked together with the second one we made it to the last belay station. Below is the view of the valley from the ledge, and our anchor setup.
ChainsandBridgeSC.JPG

P3AnchorSC&Val.JPG

Valerie getting after the last and crux pitch of Starcheck.
GOPR0780.JPG

I wore the GoPro again as Nick and I simul-climbed the final pitch to meet up with Val at the top!

If you make it Squamish one day, climb Starcheck! It's a really unique and scenic climb, and is even a perfect rest day climb at just 5.9 sport. Thanks for checking it out! Please resteem and U5dt42G4xW1EyBKDCHWEBSZLxMxDnZk.gif

Sort:  

This looks like an awesome climbing trip. Congrats to everyone that accomplished new firsts! It's been years since I've climbed but your videos got my hands sweating just like back in the day. Thanks for that. Btw, I am a curator for @ocd and would love to share your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Hope to hear from you soon!

I know the sweaty palm experience when watching climbing videos haha happens all the time! I hope you can get into climbing again soon if you're ever wanting to. But yes please share this post. I would really appreciate it! I'll see what @ocd is about.

The sweaty palms seems to be a climbers thing! Its the same for me. :-)

I'm @hato and I started @Climbing-Trail today, an account to curate and promote climbing here on Steemit.
If you like check it out! I resteemed your articles about Starcheck, as there are a nice example of what I would like to see more here on Steemit!

Very cool! I hope your @climbing-trail page does well. Thanks for the features. I've followed your account and will send you posts that I think are deserving of a resteem by your page. @unipsycho is a good person to follow because he makes a lot of good outdoor and climbing posts.

No problem, I started yesterday so the reach is limited at the moment. But who knows, maybe one day. :-)

Thanks for the reply and the hint of @unipsycho's page. Those posts look amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53