Budapest a city to remember vol. 5 - Vajdahhunyad Castle

in #photography7 years ago

Greetings fellow Steemians,

Today in the chronicles of my Budapest adventure, we will be visiting the stunning Vajdahhunyad Castle.
IMG_20170727_163423.jpg

Also, don’t forget to check out my previous Budapest volumes if you haven’t already. Go back and see St Stephen’s Basilica, Buda Castle, Fisherman’s Bastion, and Heros’ Square.

Nestled just behind the Heros’ Square and across a small body of water (Yes, it has a moat!! Obviously, I am impressed by the simple things. I’m an American; we don’t have moats or castles to go with them.), rests a medieval style castle that’ll make Disney blush. I am talking, of course, about the beautiful Vajdahhunyad Castle.

IMG_20170727_155929.jpg

A few things made this experience truly breathtaking.
1: It had a moat! (I know we’ve already been over this, but it really made me feel like I was stepping into a different time.) And, the main entryway clearly used to be a drawbridge before they built the current structure for delivery vehicles to enter. IMG_20170727_160155.jpg 2: Entry to the grounds is FREE!!!!!! Much like most of my adventures. ;) I am a very thrifty traveler. :3
3: It was packed with architecture from different eras from medieval to baroque style spires and statues casually resting on ledges high above. DSC_3979.jpg
4: There was a beautiful park full of places to lounge and just enjoy your existence with a fantastic view of the castle. Who wouldn’t want to picnic or share a bottle wine while lounging on the edge of a medieval castle’s moat?
IMG_20170727_163243.jpg
5: THEY HAVE CLASSICAL CONCERTS IN THE COURTYARD!!! I attended one while I was there and it is certainly a moment in my life I will cherish. Moreover, it was very affordable. Every year in August, they have concerts in the castle courtyard every evening. The cost is a mere $14 or about 4000 in Hungarian Forint. The concerts are about 2.5 hours in length and vary in their nightly offerings. They were playing Vivaldi when I went. Even if they hadn’t been playing my favorite composer, it would have been a perfect moment. The seating, as you can see below, are simple plastic chairs as they have no permanent structure in the courtyard. They also sell concessions at the far end of the courtyard. Including, wines, soft drinks, and various treats. I picked up a German style soft pretzel for $2 and it was excellent.

DSC_3993.jpg

DSC_3996.jpg

At the end of the day, this experience was enriching in multiple ways. It was my first ever castle of this type to visit. I have been to palaces and fortresses in many other places. Most notably, my adventures travelling around Denmark, where I saw many impressive palaces, and Slovenia where I ventured to the castle on the hilltop (Both of which, I will post about in due time.), but something about this particular castle really drew me in and left a mark. It may have been Vivaldi playing in the courtyard at dusk. Regardless of what it was, this castle has loads of charm and is a must see in Budapest, especially if you are traveling in August during the concerts.

That’s it for today. Please upvote, comment, follow, and resteem if you liked my photos and commentary. If you haven’t viewed my previous Budapest volumes, please go back and do that. See St Stephen’s Basilica, Buda Castle, Fisherman’s Bastion, and Heros’ Square.
As usual, below are more photos from my day. Please enjoy. And, see you next time for more travel adventures!

IMG_20170727_163526.jpg
Another lounger at the park across the moat.

IMG_20170727_161235.jpg
The inner courtyard.

IMG_20170727_161109.jpg
Workers prepare the courtyard for the nightly concert as tourists continue their sightseeing.

IMG_20170727_162751.jpg
A beautiful medieval tower on the back side of the castle.

IMG_20170727_162639.jpg
I found a crevasse was nice symmetry. :D

DSC_3987.jpg
Ravens gather of the spires as the concert is about to begin.

DSC_4003.jpg
The towers are lit up as night swallows the castle grounds.

DSC_4010.jpg
An effigy of a young woman, bathed in swirling moths, watches over us as we shuffle through the castle courtyard.

DSC_4031.jpg
Lights give life to the quiet castle as the concert goers trickle from the grounds.

Sort:  

This wonderful post has received a @thenomad 20% upvote from @mrswhale. Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/XG4y3mg Be sure to vote for witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses

!originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thenomad to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received gratitude of 2.39 % from @appreciator thanks to: @thenomad.

This post has received a 1.03 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @thenomad. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42