Color in my GardensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago

As I have posted again and again, Cape Town is experiencing it's worst drought since recordings started. Add to that strong winds and 40 degrees celsius (104 Fahrenheit) temperatures the past two days, I despair for our garden. We have resigned ourselves to losing some of our exotic shrubs and bushes.



Bouganvillea - This hardy plant will survive a drought
I was standing in the garden having a cup of coffee in the calm, cool early morning feeling quite a bit of despair at how desolate the garden looks, having been lush and colorful just a couple of years ago. At that point I decided to record some of the color which still manages to eke out an existence and this decision cheered me whilst I took the photo's.



I will add the names of those I know but that is not many.



Wild Garlic



Another Bell Flower??



Potato Bush flower - Also a tough cookie and I expect him to be flowering for many years still.






Resembles a pansy...but no, is not but I do not know the name



bouganvillea



Dwarf Bouganvillea


For the record I did try macro photography, and all the settings were manual but to my eye there is nothing spectacular. Never mind, as long as I have a charged battery I will have a chance to improve.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

So sorry to hear about your continued heat and drought! It's so hard to give up on plants that we've known and cared for. It is a real loss!

But those bouganvillea will make it. They are so tough. Have you ever considered Lantana? When I lived in Arizona, they would grow in harsh places that never got supplemental water, like vacant lots. They bloom happily in the worst conditions and butterflies seem to like them a lot.

I will definitely investigate Lantana, thanks for the suggestion. Was checking long term weather forecasts (we do this daily) .. not a cloud in sight for the next three weeks...ouch.

Here's a wikipedia link about the plant I'm talking about. I didn't realize it was considered invasive in some parts of the world. So I thought I better add this to our discussion. If you do ever use it, it sounds like cutting back the flowerheads before they set seed would be a good idea! Lantana camera. I see this plant sold in nurseries in the Southwest US, so maybe it's not as bad a this article makes it out to be. Here's to rain for you -- soon!

In another comment thread, @breezin says they are invasive where they are in South Africa. And that they are problems for cattle, goats, and sheep. So maybe Lantana are not the best solution for a drought tolerant garden plant in your area, pretty though they may be. Drought is such a challenge!

Both sad and beautiful

Thanks for the response.... and you are right.. but mostly sad as most of these plants will be gone by the end of this summer.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.12 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Regret for your losing some of your exotic shrubs and bushes. Your flowers are all beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58836.39
ETH 2494.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44