Wildlife Photography in Algonquin Park

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I remember on my first canoe trip with my friends, I was taking photos with my iPhone 3GS (a dinosaur), and although those photos will forever be cherished, they weren't that spectacular. I knew I would be going on many more trips, and so I decided to invest in the Canon Rebel T3. It's a nifty little camera that was great for someone like me who was new to using a DSLR camera. It came with the Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II lens, and I also purchased the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens. Along with a tripod, and waterproof hard case, this was a big purchase for me as a 16 year old.. but I knew it would pay off. In Algonquin Provincial Park, one of the most elusive and rewarding animals to spot is a moose. I'm not sure if it's their size, or elegance that make them such a treat to see in the wild, but I'm always on the lookout for them when in Algonquin. I think what makes wildlife in Algonquin so much more special to see is that deep in the park, these creatures live their lives without the influence from humans like wildlife living closer to cities. To me, this is nature at it's finest.
camp25.JPG
chip9.jpgcamp26.JPG
downy8.jpgcamp23.JPGalgfall90.jpg

Sort:  

Man those are some great shots! That moose is awesome!!

OMG your photos are amazing!!! They all are! I think I die, part fear but mostly excitement, to be able to be that close to a dear! They are breathtaking. There’s definitely something magical about being out in nature ❤️

Thank you for the kind words :) @otterbeme

Nice Work!

Your post has been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos.

Your photography will be featured in today's lucky 10 showcase, and entered in the January 2018 Lucky Photo Lottery for a chance of winning free SBD.

click here For more information.

Wow thank you very much @yourluckyphotos !!! :)

Love your photos!! Love Moose and Loons and Oh...that cute squirrel. We are heading to NH for the summer months and looking forward to seeing Moose and hearing the Loons at night!

Thank you :) I hope you have a blast! There is no better sound at night than the call of a loon!! Seriously haha. Cheers! @swedegis

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thehappycamper to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Some photographers shoot portraits, some shoot animals-- you shoot animal portraits! I see there is a focus on the face, and you really capture the expressions. I love it.

Hello @photocontests I am wondering why after adding the #animalphotography tag, I did not receive an automated response indicating that I was entered into the contest? I'm seeing that people as of 1:20am are getting theirs. Sorry, but I just wanted to know if I was entered :) I'm new, and so I think I must have screwed up.

Wow! Make sure to check out @juliank for his daily photo contests, today's is #animalphotography and #foodphotography so check out his page on how to enter. Every day you enter it builds the percentage you are upvoted from him. There are tiers/levels plus with these kinds of images you are bound to win one of them! I have entered 30+ times and haven't won but thousands of people enter so I don't worry too much. It just keeps me motivated to post something new, regularly.

Beautiful pictures! I especially like the loon where it looks like she has some young hiding under her wings. Thanks for sharing.
 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01