Brick by Brick, LEGO Exhibit - Museum of Science and Industry

in #photography6 years ago

Fun for kids of all ages LEGO has captured the hearts of millions of kids around the world. Tiny little bricks used to make everything from a simple house in the hands of a young child up to works of art for Master Builders like Chicago native Adam Reed Tucker.

On Friday I posted about our trip to the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago and said a second post about the Brick by Brick exhibit would be coming. This exhibit was just to large and amazing to lump in with the general post about MSI.

A little overview from MSI's website about the exhibit:

This 7,000-square-foot exhibit, developed and created by MSI, features a spectacular collection of more than a dozen giant LEGO®-built structures of engineering marvels, including a 60-foot-long Golden Gate Bridge, the International Space Station, St. Louis Gateway Arch, Hoover Dam, Roman Colosseum and more, constructed by LEGO® Certified Professional and Chicago native Adam Reed Tucker.

Seriously a 60 foot long replica of the golden gate bridge...take a look at this.
20180323_112206.jpg
20180323_112324.jpg

The details and skill that go into figuring out how to build a structure like this just amaze me. It's one thing to build something cool from a set of instructions with. But to take a real structure, figure out scale to "LEGO Size", figure out what bricks are needed, and then actually build something like this takes an artist and an engineer.

Now I didn't go into this exhibit thinking it would become it's own post or I would have taken more photos. So I'll mention a few fun things that aren't photoed. They had a bunch of Adam Reed Tucker's original LEGO sets, an earthquake simulator which you could build with foam blocks and try and keep your building standing during the earthquake, 2 seats attached to a pulley system which you lifted yourself on at either 1/2 or 1/6 your weight, LEGO building stations to test your abilities, and more.

Well the rest I will allow my photos to do the talking and let you see the exhibits.

20180323_112135.jpg

20180323_112704.jpg
20180323_112734.jpg

While not LEGO this is really cool. It's a skyscraper model from the 1933 Century of Progress World's Fair.
20180323_113139.jpg
20180323_113145.jpg

20180323_113253.jpg
20180323_113305.jpg

20180323_113319.jpg

20180323_113926.jpg
20180323_113932.jpg

20180323_113959.jpg

20180323_114153.jpg
20180323_114200.jpg

20180323_114253.jpg
20180323_114301.jpg

20180323_114629.jpg
20180323_114837.jpg
20180323_114844.jpg

20180323_114725.jpg
20180323_114745.jpg

20180323_114921.jpg
20180323_114933.jpg
20180323_115855.jpg

The next time your kids wants to play with their legos remember they are learning while playing. With a little creativity and maybe some direction from you amazing things can be built. Consider jumping onto eBay and buying bulk lego brinks vs buying yet another set. Who knows maybe you have a future Master Builder or Architect.


All photos are taken by @thedarkhorse and all rights are reserved.
Photos are taken with my Smasung S8+

Sort:  

And that is why I absolutely love legos!! The sets are such a rip-off, I'm with you about buying used bulk instead. The kids and I used to wander garage sales in our neighbourhood looking for them ;)

Such a cool exhibit! Thanks for sharing.

and btw, @abh12345 has his league results out; I see you moving on up my friend ;)

Garage sales around here are picked over very quickly as legos are big business for resellers. Very hard to come by them unless you make sure to be there before the doors open while the people are setting up. Kind of crazy.

My kids really like the minifigures more then anything. They can play with the little people for hours and then build simple structures that fit into the story line they are creating. They do this more then using the actual sets. So I now buy them the knock off mini figs so we don't have to buy all the sets. Huge money saver and unlike some snobby kids mine could care less if it's "real lego", they just want the characters and this is the only way they get as many as they have.

Yes, you don't want to be that guy hanging around out front of people's garages at 8 in the morning haha

That sounds like some good parenting to me...I think I would really like your kids ;)

Oh I have been that guy more then a few times. We picked up my oldest Daughter her bike at a garage sale last year, it looked brand new. My Wife wan't to be first and make sure we got this bike if it was priced good...and it was. $20 for a $300 bike.

Nice!! So really it's your wife who's that guy haha

oh and I gave up on the curating for maximum profits league. Was wasting votes on content I didn't really like that much just to make sure to rise up that list. The other list just comes natural to me, engaging with others is why I'm here. So not changing anything and the league just lets me see how I'm stacking up. Like that my numbers are improving.

That's interesting because some nights, if I'm all done commenting on people I know, I start to wander with League 1 in my mind, but simply find that the content isn't there for me. What's on 'trending' is often nonsense, and in the end, it's just not the way I roll ;)

If it's hit trending you can't make any money on the post. You need to find the people that always hit trending and upvote them before their paid votes land. Reality is trending pages are filled with paid votes and voting rings, not actually much real quality content there.

Last couple weeks if I have a little extra voting power I have been self voting a couple comments instead of worrying about the delegation rewards. Need to pay for the leased delegation somehow and can't just give all the benefits away. I made a long term commitment for 1000 SP at a set rate each month that is better then leasing from minnow booster or blocktrades, but it's still a good chunk of change each month. Sure some people would look down on that, but until some posts get better rewards I'm not sure how else to go about it.

nope I know a lot of people who are leasing for different reasons and you know what? If it works for you, then what does it really matter. And also people who are upvoting comments and posts because right now it's not worth using the internal market to anything with. You might as well put your sp to work until things pick up.

That's impressive
Now I want to go visit a museum .

Crazy cool isn't it? They close at MSI on April 1st, but didn't look into where they are off to next. No way this exhibit isn't going to another location.

Wow amazing! I want my legos back!! I love the idea with the earthquake simulator. I guess i would sit there all day building and simulate :). What a great job those people have. Building with Legos all day - a dream. Thanks for the post - it was amazing to see and i will look out if we have a Lego exihibition somewhere near.

I bet it's a fun job, but at the same time very tedious.

The earthquake machine was pretty cool. I never got something to stay standing unless it was a single story tall. As you have no way to connect the pieces going tall was impossible...at least I thought so until some 5 year old walked up and stacked some blocks and it didn't fall. I had to walk away at that point...lol.

Ha ha - yes the kids minds are still out of the box - they see things we don't see anymore.

I wasn't lucky in life... both my girls were not interested in Lego... and I don't dare to play myself... imagine what my wife would think :-)

Oh I bet that if you were playing with them your girls would have joined in. Once you realize all the things you can build you can't help buy have a good time with them.

My issue is how much time can just fly by once I get started. A "Dad can you help for a minute" can turn into hours.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 17:50:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 76.10/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 40
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42