New Cemetery and Gravestone Shots in Infrared - Free To Use In Your Own Posts

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Introduction


Today I had an appointment in Newcastle which finished early and I found a lovely cemetery nearby so I thought I would take some shots.

Hope you like them. My personal favourites are 1 and 7.

Edit: Forgot to post earlier - do you have any specific kinds of things you would like me to try to photograph in infrared - if so please let me know.

As always feel free to use them in your own posts as per Steemit4free.

Images


1

This gravestone just looked amazing for some reason.

2


3

The arch at the entrance.

4


5


6

This is my favourite gravestone of all. I prefer the portrait photo of it that comes next though.

7


8

I couldn't avoid getting lens flare in some of the shots.

9

You can see the modern hospital buildings in the background.

10


11

This is the view looking back down towards the entrance.

12


13


14


15


16


17


18


19


20

A different view of the archway and gate.

21


22

A building at the far end of the cemetery.

Camera and Process Info


  • Nikon D7100 Camera with Nikon 18-35/f4 lens.
  • 590nm IR conversion.
  • White balanced in Nikon View NX.
  • Red and Blue Channels swapped in Photoshop.
  • Final adjustments in Lightroom.


Before you go have you filled in the Coinbase form to list STEEM? It only takes a few seconds. THIS POST shows you how.


If you like my work please follow me and check out my blog - @thecryptofiend


Images are my own.


Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try:


HTML tutorial


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.66 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@thecryptofiend great shots as always!
that infrared sure makes the sky look a bit close to emerald blue
and the brown tint is also quite distinct.. one day.. I'd learn how to do that ..

you always inspire!

I used to find them creepy but now .. I'd like to be buried in one when it's my time to go into that deep slumber I dont ever want to be cremated cause who knows .. maybe there would be a pajama party under the ground :D

My favorite -- I think -- is no. 18, but they're all great! I've done many a shoot in cemeteries - there is always photographic opportunity in the stillness. Thank you for sharing @thecryptofiend.

Thank you so much. Yes I love them too. They are very peaceful.

These graveyard ones are always my favourites. I should probably seek psychological help for that.. Lol. But, I do love them. Very unsettling.

Great job again. Resteemed-

Thank you. You must be a closet goth lol!

Well I have always found the Gothic style on a woman to be very sexy... But, I think I'm too happy to be a goth. Lol.

Scary pictures, great shots @thecryptofiend! Why is the grass so brown?

It's because they are infrared shots:)

you mean, shot at night! Awesome!

Thank you no they were shot in daylight - you can find out more about how it works here: https://www.lifepixel.com/introduction

thanks, I will check that out!

These are awesome! I really like the ones that have the walkways, giving the depth. (11, 18, and even 22)

I found it interesting that with the filtering you had used that brightened it up with, seemed to change how my brain processed it. While I still knew it was a cemetery, it didn't have the same 'droll' feeling I usually get from them.

Thanks:)

I found it interesting that with the filtering you had used that brightened it up with, seemed to change how my brain processed it.

Yes they look quite different that is the beauty of infrared.

I love the old stones. I have a lot of experience with head stones and the old ones are so expensive to make now. Everything is 4-8 in thick and the better granites are so expensive that most people opt for the cheap stuff out of Georgia. Really nice shots.

Thanks - yes I'm afraid that applies to most things that involve craftsmanship these days - materials are so expensive and also I think the skills themselves have been lost over the decades. Old stuff was made to last. I doubt any of the modern gravestones would last 100 years or more which the old ones frequently can.

We had 3 cemeteries and a monument shop. Those stones with the raised letters you can't even get anymore. Most of the ones you showed look like Barre gray which is harder than the Georgia stuff...really expensive now, it has to be custom ordered.

Thanks @thecryptofiend! I especially liked 5 and 18. In photo 5, the old, tilted stone seems in contrast to the headstones in front of it, giving it a spooky look. Photo 18, I like the use of the pathway in the shot.

Yeah, photo 18 is awesome. The path leads to the arch at the entrance, which is way in the background.
EXCELLENT PHOTO!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81