How Can You Mend A Broken Heart?

in #photography6 years ago

How Can You Mend A Broken Heart?

DSCF0478.jpg

When travelling to Cuba, there was no expectation

of making new friends. The thought had not really surfaced that there was the possibility of running into several people who lived in the same geographical region of Canada. It was a pleasant surprise to make many new friends who stay in touch.

The stories and reasons as to why people travel

are always fascinating. Never the same exactly. Some were travelling who do it regularly, some on a rare family vacation, others seeking to put physical, and hopefully mental, distance between themselves and a bad situation.

Cuba had been on the bucket list for a while so when a buddy recommended we go, it was an easy decision.

DSCF0485.jpg

During our stay I met Erin and her lovely Grandma

who saw me happily snapping pics with my basic little point and shoot. We struck up a conversation and a photoshoot was born the next day on the beach in full sunlight. Terrible conditions to shoot under but still fun and a great challenge. Which I love.

DSCF0475.jpg

DSCF0494.jpg

DSCF0500.jpg

DSCF0519.jpg

DSCF0499.jpg

After the trip was over,

many of us who had travelled to Cuba and the same resort found ourselves at Pearson International Airport in Toronto watching the luggage belt rotate baggage while we all kept a lookout for our own. Others farther back would let us know if they saw their bag and we would grab it up and send it back to them.

It was while waiting for bags I found myself standing beside Erin

who was also staring at the belt. I asked her how she was doing and she just crumpled against my chest and softly began to cry. I can only imagine that it must have looked something like a grizzly bear comforting a dove. But there she was. It was obvious her heart was broken and the guy she thought the world of had left her. I just let her stay there and cry and patted her back while quietly saying one of my best platitudes, ‘That guy is crazy and he for sure doesn’t deserve you.’ But her heart still felt differently.

During any photo shoot, I am always in search of something. That moment of clarity or some might say truth when the camera is lucky enough to catch a glimpse of someone's soul and reveal their true feelings. So amidst the various shots we tried, we chatted easily and enjoyed each others company. And I just let it all unfold as I usually do. And this shot came up when I was reviewing my images later that night, and I knew I had been lucky enough to find a small sliver of soul.

DSCF0510.jpg

It really wasn’t that obvious to me

while at the resort in Cuba that she was there to put distance between herself and that relationship. Her very cool Grandma has taken her to Cuba as cool Grandmas would likely do.

Other than Erin being what you would expect a 20 something year old woman to be while in Cuba, nothing really seemed out of the ordinary.

Maybe she danced a little more, drank a little harder,

paid for it a little more and had to miss our pontoon boat ocean excursion when she threw up in a bush before we left. Her shade of green blended in nicely with the bush and she stayed behind. Poor sweetheart.

Her and her Grandma only live about an hour away from me and I see updates from them on FaceBook. It’s pretty cool I think. I loved the trip, I loved the people and I had a great time. I’m really touched that I could fly so far and meet new friends that live close to me year round.

Of course, the photoshoot is never really over so long as I'm holding a camera!

DSCF0535.jpg

How can you mend a broken heart?

Love,
Bug

©Images @TheBugIQ

Sort:  

Great story Bug! And really nice shots. I always feel for women going through this...but that old saying, "When you're going through hell, keep going."

Thanks @artemisnorth, yes! A lived life is the best life I believe.

She truly looks like a cool grandma!

I haven't gone through something like that, but I can imagine being a really tough situation. I think there is no right way to mend a broken heart, everyone heals at different rates but of course, one of the only things that can really help is distracting ourselves doing other activities and I'm so glad Erin got the chance to distract herself during that trip!

Thank you for sharing this story Bug, the pictures are incredible!

Thanks very much Maria, Yes! Her Grandma is really wonderful. She is also on my facebook. I have experienced those broken hearts more than once and it never feels good. We had a good time at the resort and I suppose if I were paying more attention I might have noticed Erin was a little bit sad.

She is a hairdresser about an hour from where I live and she seems pretty happy from the updates I see online. I'm looking forward to more travelling and meeting new people with new stories. I'm hoping to visit different places in the next few years!

You're definitely right about distracting ourselves by doing other activities. It's very important to keep moving forward I feel. I know on the other side of a long relationship, my mother had to stay very busy after my dad passed away. She cried everyday for five years she told me, but she kept going out with friends and things eventually started to get better for her. There is a cost to love and a price to paid when a 30 year relationship or longer comes to a close. Keep being you and keep moving forward!

Bug! :)

Great story, and nice images, Bug!

Thanks so much @bluefinstudios, appreciate you taking a look :) That was a point and shoot Fuji I happened to take on the trip with me. Great little camera!

It's a shame for me not to have discovered you before @thebugiq. Not only tell stories through the lens of your camera; You are also able to make the reader vibrate with each letter. Your narration is real, honest, raw, naked, beautiful. That music that you have chosen to accompany her, serves to crown a story.

I could say that love heals everything, but the problem is that you have to express that love correctly. Sometimes what is needed is advice, or a song, sometimes the silent company is enough. With the hug.

Thank you for taking me to Cuba and for introducing me to such a beautiful momentarely broken soul.

Hi @miguelvargas, thanks for stopping by. Yes love and the loss of love always needs to be handled according to the circumstances and the individual people. I am always amazed at how truly different people are.

I like your style.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

minnowbooster upvote in the amount of $62.57 STU, $88.47 USD.

For a total calculated value of $63 STU, $88 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $16 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48