@tegoshei's Photographer at Heart Series #06 (The Church and Stuff Around It)

in #photography5 years ago


It's been a year since I updated this series. Time flies really fast and we just don't notice it sometimes. The last entry to this series was dated last year, which you can see in THIS LINK.


Well, it couldn't be helped. I lost my phone last year and I couldn't take photos for a while. After then, a lot of things happened and I became quite inactive in the blogging world. I actually just started blogging actively again a few months back. I didn't really leave... though the posts I share per week decreased. However, I'll do my best to share stuff a few times a week if not every day.

Going back to this series, I got the chance to take some pictures today because I and my mama went to church to light some candles and offer prayers to my grandma. It's her first death anniversary today. Wow... time indeed is fast. But one thing's for sure, life goes on.

For the photos that I'll be sharing, I took them using my Nokia 5 phone and edited/enhanced them using PhotoScape desktop app. I hope you enjoy them!


IMG_20190829_094633.jpg

IMG_20190829_094658.jpg


It was quite sunny this morning, but as I'm writing this blog post, I can hear some thunder. I wonder if it'll rain. The sky looks bright, though.

This church is Santa Teresa de Avila Parish Church in Talisay City, Cebu. Parts of it was destroyed during an earthquake about 5 years ago, but the renovation has been finished. The small steps in front of the church was also made together with the renovation.


IMG_20190829_094746.jpg

That small structure behind the tree is where we light some candles and offer our prayers. In the past, we just had to light some candles inside the church. They placed a small area at the back part to light some candles. However, having this separate place is much better. You can concentrate more. The church in my city isn't very crowded especially on weekdays, so I prefer going there on such days.


IMG_20190829_095243.jpg


Lighting a candle represents our prayers. Well, at least, it's what we do. It might be different for others. :) For me, a lit candle is a symbol of hope. When we feel that we are in our darkest, when we light just one candle, seeing the light coming from it would make us feel hopeful.


IMG_20190829_095423.jpg


This last picture might be kind of unrelated, but I saw these big ants near the tree you saw in the third picture. When I got out of the small structure after praying and lighting some candles, I saw these little guys. I found them very cute, and so I tried to take a decent photo of them. They move so fast and the focus of my phone camera isn't that good. T_T

If I get the chance, I'd love to get myself a camera to take a lot of different pictures. I mean, I'm not that good, but I enjoy photography. It makes me feel good and happy. Whenever I see something interesting, I take a snap. (^^) Ironically, I'm a homebody... but whenever I go out somewhere, I'd definitely take more and more pictures. <3


Thanks a lot for checking this post out. Until next time! (^_^)v


Posted via Marlians.com
Sort:  

Thank you for your efforts on marlians.com you earned some PHOTOS for your photos.

I love marlians.com <3 Thank you so much. (^_^)v


Posted via Marlians.com

And some CCC tokens too

Yay!!! Thank you... (^_^)v


Posted via Marlians.com

and well, a bit of NEOXAG too

So kind... <3 Thanks a bunch!!! (^_^)v


Posted via Marlians.com

This is a lovely church with a nice blue sky backdrop...

It is! (^_^)v Thank you very much for dropping by with your comment. :)


Posted via Marlians.com

You got a 13.99% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tegoshei!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 12 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81