Grand Central Terminal

in #photography7 years ago

Cool detail inside Grand Central terminal

Grand Central is a big hub for commuters in and out of NYC, 750,000 people pass through Grand Central daily and over 1,000,000 people during the holidays.

Even though I pass through here every working day the sheer scale of those numbers still amazes me, that means in an average week well more than the whole Population of New Zealand pass through Grand Central.

But I do wonder how many pass through the terminal in such a rush to or from work that they don't notice some of the cool detail isn't he station, Such as

IMG_1241.JPG

The variety of cool chandeliers in the terminal

They are both beautiful looking, ornate and heavy, for example each of the chandeliers overhead in Vanderbilt Hall weigh 2,500 lbs. and glow with 132 bulbs surrounded by carved oak leaves.

IMG_1240.JPG

This is another one in one of the other halls not quite so ornate but in my opinion equally beautiful.

And to contrast with the Beautiful side how about...

IMG_1242.JPG

These are above the Entrance on Lexington near 43rd Street. The sculpted rats are depicted as if they are climbing the anchor ropes on a ship, a quirky reference to New York’s maritime roots.

I noticed these while walking around the terminal taking photos a few years back, but what really is interesting is from when I have posted shots of them on other sites, or showed to friends how few people know they are there.

I hope the rats didn't freak anyone out there cool Little Sculptures and not real, but if you look down at the tracks while waiting for a train you will occasionally see rats as well and not the sculptured type.

111 steemit banner.jpg

These photos taken by me using a Sony A6500 mirrorless camera

!steemitworldmap 40.752412 lat -73.976960 long Grand Central terminal NYC d3scr

Sort:  

That first picture is brilliant! The detail inside Grand Central is immense. Good to know how heavy those things are, I'll be sure not to walk under them on my next trip to the city....

Thanks and yeah I have thought the same about them after reading up on them and the weight of them

sneaky-ninja-sword-small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja attack!
You have been defended!

4.03...

To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong, I rely on the support of my fellow #thealliance brethren.

When able, please upvote my attacks so that I may stay mighty and continue to defend and protect our beloved team!

woosh

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human 😊!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tattoodjay to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Amazing chanderliers! I knew that the Central Station in NYC is an awesome place, although I never been there, but I would never have expected these pieces of excellence there!

I was suprised the first time I saw them as well and there is a bunch of them

Excellent capture on the details. I would imagine it is real lit up in there.

Yes it is there are many of these chandeliers around the various halls

I would believe that many people go through it each day but i would have never guessed that it's more than a population of the whole city i am living in! And they manage to keep it so luxurious.

I was surprised by the number when I saw it as well, it is pretty close to the population of Manhattan which I think is about 1.5 Million if I remember rightly the last time I looked

They sure do keep it clean and indeed Luxurioius

It's crazy indeed, and even hard to imagine all that movement. Works like a clockwork then :)

Yea they have all the trains organized so well and I avoid the worst of peak permits busy enough in off peak times

That is why when something happens out of ordinary on a bigger scale, there would be such a chaos.
Like i was exiting London Underground and a heavy rain, like real shower started on a otherwise pretty clear day, nobody was carrying an umbrella, and the exit got stuck in mere seconds with thousands of people piling near the entrance as nobody wanted to get wet :) Imagine what would happen in central station should a situation similar to this occur! :)

When we had the big power outage here a few years back it was like that in the station was so crowded it was crazy

I was lucky back then I could walk home to Queens

Yeap, we feel so invincible, yet how fragile our whole system is..

Ohh yes indeed it is that power cut for example whole East coast without power for hours

All started from a 60cent part failing

Crazy when you think about it but really shows how susceptible we are

It is a beautiful station...one of my favorites in the world...

Ohh yes it is such an impressive Terminal I am so lucky to commute through it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62690.68
ETH 2463.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62