When did this become my beach?

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Heard of the Great Barrier Reef? That is where I lived. Well, not like Nemo at the dropoff, but in Cairns, in the far north east of Australia. There aren't many places as idyllic in the world as Cairns. Reef, Rainforest and desert not too far away. Crocodiles man the rivers and cassowaries roam the forest.

Today, we took our daughter to the beach. It is about half a kilometre walk from our apartment and was the first time this summer. My wife commented that the flowers are dying, summer is already coming to a close and today was the first suitable beach day.

I sat there in the (quite cold) water as my daughter picked up small rocks for the first time. After learning they weren't edible, she played moving them from the water to her bucket and back again. She really likes to order her playthings. It is almost OCD, at least her room will be clean.

But, as I sat there in the water I was reminded of an early life in Cairns. One where I would study at the beach between lessons and sit and watch the sunset as the odd dolphin fin broke the water. Beaches are a massive part of Australian culture and the dream for everyone is of course, to live overlooking the ocean and a golden stretch of sand.

I have spent so many hours bumming around a beach, sitting with friends talking nonsense and holding hands with first loves (and second, third...). Although not a strong swimmer and not in need of a tan, playing around at a beach is something I enjoy. Throwing a ball, having dinner in a restaurant that opens onto a beach or just an ice cream to cool the day are some quite simple and extraordinary things.

I grew up near Adelaide and one thing my family did on random occasion was to squeeze into the car and head to Glenelg for fish and chips. This is a fifty kilometre drive. They were wrapped in butcher's paper and we would have battered fish and a Cornjack each (creamed corn in a crumbed case). We would sit and eat it on the beach together and afterwards, as the night cooled the air, head and get an ice cream from along Jetty road.

It is funny, as I sat there in the water with my daughter I wondered if I will ever be able to do that again. Hopefully, with her and my wife @momone, on a warm evening and a sea breeze. If I was going to create a tradition, that is the kind of thing I would like. It is something good I do remember from my family life.

Perhaps @galenkp and @rezantroy remember it too.

Just in case that time never arrives, I will enjoy what I can at the lake beach we have. A different kind of idyllic.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

The smell of driftwood burning in the still air, swimming at night in the stinger net during the wet season at Yorkey's Knob, looking back along the Coastline on a clear day from Rex Lookout, Exploring the reef at low tide at Yule Point, and of course your Daughter would lose it completely at Pebbly Beach organizing the millions of smoothed pebbles by size, colour and shape.
Such a nice part of the Planet. Make sure your Daughter gets some of these memories too.

I will do my best. for her her to experience it too. I still have family there also. Trinity beach was my haunt for a good while :)

The only thing you mentioned I didn't do is Pebbly beach. I don't know why.

M8... You know why, It is a memory yet to be made and shared by the both of you together.

Looks very very good :) Followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68