SteemitPhotoChallenge #51 - Entry 1 - The eyes of a Grandmother loststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

At some point, nature was a mystery to all with each breeze and falling rain a miracle to behold. It was something to be worshipped, and it was. Over time however, nature has been starting to be unravelled and understood by humans so much so that everyone holds an opinion on complex matters such as climate change, pollution and space travel. It hasn't taken long to get from revering nature to arrogant contempt. A societal god complex.

I think however that nature has a lot more to offer hidden among the folds of its cloak and even with all the advancements we have made, we have barely scratched the surface. How far we will be able to venture into understanding is going to depend heavily on if we survive long enough to do so. We seem more intent on global competition and destruction than cooperative discovery.

But, all of the issues of the world are beyond me, although thought about them is not. Life can be relatively simple if one chooses to explore the internal view before attempting to change the external. My daughter forces me to look inside myself in many ways from my habits, words to the development of myself to be what she requires to be her best, a testing ground for her skills and the support after she falls. I have the feeling, she is going to test her skills very heavily indeed which requires me to shape up in many ways.

But, she forces me to explore a past that is gone, as all pasts are, and that is one that had my mother in it. My daughter will perceive the world through her own eyes but will never meet the person from which she inherited their colour. My mother.

Nature chose the long shot over the expected as nature seems to do and gave my daughter bright blue eyes with a depth yet unknown. When I look into them, I am often reminded of my mother and a childhood that was far from traditional. My mother was intelligent but very calculating, passive-aggressive and somewhat of a narcissist who could manipulate with the best of them. I watched it often play throughout my family and wreak havoc many a time. Often I saw an almost nihilistic pleasure in her eyes as things burned, but for her life held meaning and that was to satisfy her own needs above all else.

She wasn't always in this frame of mind though and my mother was also there for me when times were particularly bad health-wise but not far below the surface was the animal looking to gain advantage. I learned a lot from her in many ways, a lot that I do not wish to hold within me. When I look in the mirror, I do not see much of her at all, I see more of my father, a simple man, a man easily manipulated.

And then I turn to my daughter with her piercing blue eyes burying into my own and realise, she is going to try to manipulate her father into getting whatever she wants. I have to train now, review the lessons from childhood, learn to recognise the signs, just in case she got more than her grandmother's eyes.

Has anyone else seen their parents shine through in their children?

[ Olympus EM-1 | ISO320 | 20mm | f1.7 ]

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Heredity is a frightening thing! She is a mix of her parents and grandparents. Both physical and mental. The beauty however... well you are smart enough to speak that credit.

It is indeed. Unless of course the blood line is brilliant in which case, nature's randomness is scary :)

I really love this stunning natural beauty! This deep blue eyes, like the ocean.

I have seen my parents shine trough my little sister: https://steemit.com/steemitphotochallenge/@patze/steemitphotochallenge-51-entry-or-look-into-my-eye

https://steemit.com/portraitcontest/@patze/steemit-portrait-photography-contest-week-7

Beautiful high key portrait @tarazkp, exemplary in every way. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Gracias Amigo. I think that means, cool. :)

Are creeds such simple things like the clothes which a man can change at will and put on at will? Creeds are such for which people live for ages and ages.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67