Monochrome Monday - St Petersburg

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is looking across to Peter and Paul Fortress from a café terrace. Surprisingly. it didn't end up raining at all and the hot weather and sunshine continued for our entire stay. St Petersburg was definitely an eye opening experience and nothing like I was expecting. It felt very safe, the people were friendly and accommodating and often went out of their way to help even though there was nothing in it for them.

The city itself looks like a run-down Paris but there is renovation construction all over the city ongoing and when it turns the corner, it is going to truly be one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I definitely plan on going back and from Finland, it is a couple of hours by train.

I don't know what Russia is like as I think St Petersburg is probably not representative of the entire country but if you do happen to have a chance to go there in the summer, I don't think anyone would be disappointed.

[ ISO250 | f4.5 | 1 /6400 ]

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Very nice beautiful your photography :-)

Thank you very much.

You are welcome :-)

Wow, that's an epic shot! Really like the composition <3

Thanks. Sometimes it all comes together. Sometimes not :)

Yeah, the Photo Gods were with you ;)

Beautiful photograph! The vertical composition works excellent and the elongated cross at the bottom brings enough interest to the photo without taking away from the sky.
Got my vote and follow!

Much appreciated

Thanks for sharing! Stunning shot!

Great picture!

Wonderfully dramatic moment in the skies @tarazkp, and unique way to present Peter and Paul Fortress. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Please state clearly how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS. Thank you.

I came out of the subway for it ;)

I don't mind which. It would be nice to get some traffic but at the end of the day I don't think that happens either way. If there is a picture there, at least people who see your post can see my work too.

So, the photo shall be. Thank you @tarazkp.

I like the shot! I kept thinking of hoping over to St Petersburg from Helsinki on the ferry at least for a quick day trip on my next visit to Finland. I heard I wouldn't need a visa to enter Russia if I did it that way for a day and had a return ticket for a boat on that day. At least I would know if I wanted to go through the red tape to come back for a few days there or not...

You will have to check but I think you can have 3 nights there but have to stay on the boat, not a local hotel.

We had 5 days there and went through the Visa application. Fast for a Finn, much slower for an Australian.

5 days would be great but I will look into the 3 nights option whereby I stay on the boat. Thanks!

It is much easier that way. Looking forward to your pictures.

Great @tarazkp resteemed and upvoted🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59