Interesting places to photograph

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

It is always great to find interesting places to shoot. It is even better when it is accessible and in the middle of a city. Tampere, the city I live in, is built on a strip of land between two large lakes. There is a river that runs the few hundred metres between the lakes that splits the city in two and has been used for power generation for a long time. This is from the weir at the top.

There are lots of unique places to take photos at in Finland with many being less accessible than this one. Lots of old factories and crumbling farms. Lately, I haven't had the opportunity to explore as much as I would like but as Autumn fast approaches, plan on getting out more.

I should find another local shooter to travel with because as much as I like the solitude, sometimes it would be nice to have the option of good company too. Not too often though as I do really like the peaceful nature of photography, the time to set a shot. wait for the shutter to close on long-exposures while I take in the scene with my organic lenses.

Any activity can be used as a meditative practice. I am not one of those that can sit for an hour 'ooommmming' but, I can appreciate the small moments I have in between. I can listen to the noise of a construction site and find some point of centering within. The trouble is, I rarely take the time to practice as it isn't habitual and my memory fails often.

What kinds of interesting places do you like to shoot at and explore or, where do you like to find a little solace?

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

So beautiful! I spent a summer in Helsinki studying at the university, but I would've loved to explore a bit more. Oh well, maybe for my next visit you can be my Tampere tour guide :P

I'm definitely a social person; love meeting friends and being out and about in the middle of a city. Yet I find solace on the occasion where I can be completely alone in nature...doesn't happen as much as I'd like living in the middle of Hamburg but your photos remind me to make a point of taking a step back on a regular basis and getting a breath of fresh air.

Upvoted and followed, awesome stuff!

It definitely helps to get a little space at time, especially from a city environment. I will be your guide no worries.

I have never lived in Helsinki but I wouldn't mind one day to give it a go. Finland is quite different for me too as I am from the tropics of Australia.

Haha good deal, I might have to take you up on that! Although I don't know when I'm going to be there again...right now the next destination on my agenda is Croatia (leaving Tuesday!), then maybe Bosnia after. Australia is one of my dream places to visit but since there's still a whole bunch of countries I haven't been to in Europe, Australia still probably be a few years down the line...and I say that for primarily financial reasons! Otherwise I'd be there in a heartbeat.

Without financial limitation, I don't know if I would ever stand still.

I hear that! For me I can work anywhere, so although I still have to earn money, the fact that I can do it all over the world does make it hard to justify to myself staying in one place...both pros and cons to that.

Lookin Good!

Its alwys a good exercise to photograph the places you know well once in a while, as you know these areas intimately and pick out the often over-looked scenes!

Thanks. That is true, plus I don't have the money to travel ;)

Nice mix of art and philosophy @tarazkp. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thank you and Much appreciated :)

ohh great men what a amazing pic...how's can you shoot this amazing pic i am so proud of you..please you can learn me photography....again awesome pic..

perfect shots ! great work !!

Indeed...These placed deserve to be Photographed. I like it)

upvoted and follow .......... if you like check my trips stories like this one from Belgium https://steemit.com/travel/@bllackwidow/mytrip-belgium-awesome-part-2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64