First day of Songkran in Thailand

in #photography7 years ago

songkran6.jpg

As promised in my previous post (https://steemit.com/travel/@tangmo/water-festival-or-songkran-festival-in-thailand), I went out to take some photos for you. Unfortunately, most of local Thai people who work in Bangkok return their home during these long holidays and most people who still stay in Bangkok prefer to celebrate the Songkran Festival at Khao San Road or Silom Road where they join together specially for this purpose. It's very quiet around here. There are few cars on the road, as you would see in the pictures.

In the meantime, my sister who lives in the South of Thailand told me that local people enjoyed throwing water to each other to celebrate the first day of Songkran. Especially children, they were really fun by using their big water guns fighting along the road. They all get soaked throughout the day. Um….I think I should join them next year!

(my own pictures)
songkran5.jpg

songkran4.jpg

songkran3.jpg

(pictures from my sister)
songkran1.jpg

songkran.jpg

songkran2.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you very much! :)

Excellent post dear friend @tangmo that good images you have captured, congratulations dear friend and thank you very much for sharing

Thank you very much for your nice comment! I appreciate it! :)

Happy Songkran @tangmo! Have a fun and safe time! Try to stay dry :)

Thanks a lot! There are few people around here splashing water. So, I stay dry until now.... ha ha! ;)

You stay dry and then unexpectedly you get wet, Songkran can get crazy at times LOL.

Yes, I may get wet if I ride motorcycle! Yesterday, I saw some of them passing me and getting wet! I enjoyed watching them! I really like to get wet someday in my hometown! Ha ha! ;D

I'm sure they were having a really good time too, even if they were getting wet.

Yes, that's right! I think most of us here are willing to get wet among hot weather like this! Ha ha!! :D

It does look rather quiet there where you live. I would imagine it is very busy most times. And yes, you should join in Songkran next year, and get very wet.

Yes, it's very quiet around here. There are few people splashing water to each other now!

Yes, it's usually busy most times; there are a lot of cars on the road during rush hours!

I still stay dry until now....hopefully get wet next year in my hometown! ;)))

Thanks a lot for sharing this video with me! So, you can speak Thai a little bit now, right? ;)

I'm really happy to hear that! And hopefully, we can talk in Thai shortly! ;D

That's really nice! Thanks so much for sharing something to celebrate Songkran Days with us here! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65