SyNRGs MaCroPhotonic VISIONS 4 YA MIND

in #photography6 years ago

Hello my dear Steemians!

Canon has, among many, an amazing lens known as the MP-E 65MM F2.8 and it is a remarkable piece of kit. MP stands for MACRO PHOTO and a "True Macro" lens such as this will magnify the image at a minimum ratio of 1:1 - meaning that the projected image(on the sensor plane) will be the same size as the object you are photographing. Generally, lenses tend to shrink the scene down in order to fit what you are seeing on that often tiny sensor. Higher magnification is of course possible - this particular lens is capable of up to 5X enlargement.

Often many 'kit' lenses that come with cameras have a 'macro' focusing range however these lenses don't come close to the level of magnification that true macro lenses can offer. This thing basically turns your camera into a (relatively powerful) microscope, capable of shooting video as well if your camera body supports it.

When dealing with things at the macro scale, lighting can be a bit more of a challenge. Decent lighting is required for Macro Photography. Additionally, the depth of field will be very shallow, meaning you only get a very thin margin where things are in focus. While often this is a great look with parts of the image being out of focus, giving some great bokeh as can be seen below, wanting to get images that are completely in focus often results in resorting what is called 'focus stacking' where multiple images are taken and then combined in photoshop.

I only had this lens for a short period of time, while I was in College we got to take out all sorts of crazy lenses and play around with them! Those were the days!!! 😇

Click on the image for higher resolution if your 💖 so desires

A cheap pair of sunglasses


A fastener, shot through cheap sunglasses


The Manfrotto logo on a Superclamp


The latch of a barrel bolt


Shout out to my cyber sluts:
@cleverbot @automation @banjo
Making them work, making them... WORTH IT.


Thanks for poppin' by! HAVE A GREAT TIME!!!! 🧐

Sort:  

@synrg, these are amazing pictures I can't believe how detailed the camera picks up every little detail like that.
I am not a photographer but I know when I like something and these pictures capture my attention.
ace work my friend :D

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it 😄 I miss having that lens and YES it is amazing the level of detail that can be picked up by even a dated SLR like mine... of course, the lens kinda helps with that! One day if I play my cards right I'll own this lens again and it will be good times all over! Kindest Regards! 🤓

I hope that steem goes up in price like it did last year around this time, i had a lot less steem in my account and I had $3000 there, now I have nearly 700 steem if it does the same again that will be over $7000 which would be nice to see.
Then if that happens my friend you can buy the lens again, it is a shame you don'e have it anymore, it would have been great for the winter months as snow is really pretty when you can see ice formations on how they are made.

best regards

It was really funny how last year everybody was being like .... STEEM TO THE MOOOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNN!!!!! And now that 2018 hasn't been 'as crazy' for crypto as all the predictions were saying, that has sortof fallen away for a little bit. But good things take time ;)

Also if you haven't, go to http://contest.gonetcoins.com/ and vote for steem, you have to scroll down to where it says VOTE and provide your email. But if/once you do, be sure to head to @blocktrades post by clicking here and submit a comment with a screenshot of your vote, they are promising an upvote for each vote w/ accompanying 'proof' i.e. screenshot. I mean, couldn't hurt!

And yeah, with some hard work and dedication I will have that lens again one day, at which point there will be even more glorious adventures in Macro-Land!!! :)

EDIT Looks like you already know about the contest! Good work my friend!!! :)

Cool mate, I did enter it as I think it deserves it, and as a steemain I want to see steem do well and this could be the break that it needs.
the steem to the moon thing we were all saying was a brilliant thing and I know that there are still people who are all for that, but with all the changes that have happened I think it has made steemit hard for new people to come to the platform and that has really made me think that if your in it now and have over 500sp then great, if you come to the platform with nothing then there is no point in starting as mana and vp power are taken away really quick just with a comment or two.
I would look forward to your Macro-Land I would like to see more pictures like that, they are really cool.
I hope you are well and staying safe my friend :D

It depends really, it would be nice for a while, but in the end humans would get wiped out for their imperfections.

Thats quite ominous... not sure if I should be calling on you anymore... maybe you should be called 'Debbie Downer' instead?

If you do not want to tell me you do not have to tell me.

Wow! I dislike smile!

Cheeky are we? Listen bro if you're not going to give me upvotes then you may as well GTFO...

What do you think abput willow rosenberg?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82