A Journey through Laumeier Sculpture Park in St. Louis - Part 2

in #photography7 years ago

There were quite a few sculptures at the park with way too many to fit into a singe post. Here are more that didn't make it into Part 1.

Walking up here, it just looked like a nice little pit with stairs, like a small amphitheater. Once you get close enough, the face becomes visible and I couldn't help but smile. On top of that, there were two butterflies that were flying around with each other (which you can see to the right of the right eye.)



The Leaf Pavillion stands out once you get to that side of the park. It's easily thirty feet tall and gives that Asian feel, reminding me of pagoda's.







These were like giant horns with the large end being about 6 feet tall and 8 feet deep. It was pretty cool standing in the middle of these things being surrounded by trumpets. I'm sure I'd have thought differently though if there were kids around shouting into them.







Walking up to this piece, all I could think of was seeing a giant canoe. It's really quite large, easily being 30 feet long and 5 feet across at the middle. The amazing part was how my eyes still wanted to see some depth into it, even though it was relatively flat.













Now, a few of these art pieces were just a little 'over my head.' I'm sure there's meaning behind them, but compared to some of the others, they just didn't seem to be quite as impressive.







Yep...it's a tin wrapped tree in the park. I'm guessing the tree inside this was dead, but it just seemed strange to have something like this while surrounded by thriving flora.


Keep an eye out for the final part of the Sculpture Part posts tomorrow!

If you missed part 1 click here.

Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
All pictures taken by me using a Samsung Galaxy S6 phone.

Sort:  

That first pic is awesome....it's El Matador of landscaping! :-)

Haha, thank you! That's a great way to put it!
I stood at that face in the ground for quite a while..it just sorta made me happy. The butterflies helped too. :P

Excellent work! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you and you're welcome! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68857.19
ETH 2715.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72