📸 Great Giant Green Grasshopper Batman! Nothing Escapes the Eye of a Photographer. ColorChallenge ThursdayGreen

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This sucker was HUGE! It was about the length of the screen portion of my phone which is 4.5 inches with intricate patterns and textures.

I spotted this giant grasshopper hiding out in one of the plants in front of a restaurant not too long ago while waiting to be seated. It was doing a decent job of blending in, but when it moved its back leg the flash of red caught my eye. I walked over to get a better look at what it was and as I got closer it just seemed to get bigger and bigger.

Naturally the photographer in me decided this called for a picture. Only having my cell phone with me, I quickly changed up some of the settings, turned on the flash, and held steady to lock in the focus. I moved slowly into position and got as close as I could. It was starting to move as I set up so I knew it was aware of me. I got a few pictures just before it crawled around and under to the lower leaves to hide.

Today it gets its 15 minutes of fame with @kalemandra's #ThursdayGreen @colorchallenge.

Giant-Green-Grasshopper-1-SteemPowerPics.jpg
Closeup picture using my Samsung Galaxy S5 phone camera.

Settings
White Balance: Cloudy
Flash: ON
HDR: OFF
Focus: Center/Manual Select
Distance: 12-18" from subject

Giant-Green-Grasshopper-2-SteemPowerPics.jpg
Full frame photo to better show the scale of things.




Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Wow! That is really cool, I was just showing my wife this pic and she was stunned as well, I have never seen a grasshopper with such cool camouflage texture! Nice shot !

Thank you. Yeah it was a big one - looked like it was suited up in armor ready for battle :-)

There are amazing details. It is extremely clear. An awesome photograph.

Such a great shot.. Nice picture I upvoted. Good continuation

.....
@permatek

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SteemPowerPics from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Love the photo, thanks!

This post has received a 11.76 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @steempowerpics. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations @steempowerpics! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great composition and colors @steempowerpics. Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS.

Please state clearly in the comments how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61358.50
ETH 3378.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52