🌷 Flower Friday - Take A Moment to Stop and Smell the Roses!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Friday-Flowers-01-PowerPics.png

My world has been rather hectic the last few months to say the least. I rolled into 2018 with a pretty good idea of what I wanted to do, what I needed to do, and how I was going to go about making the transition to an "ALL IN" role with regard to my new life here in the world of blockchain and crypto, but things have moved at a much faster pace than I anticipated.

I phased out my 'job' in the real world back in January in order to free up my time to focus on the projects, events and shows, and initiatives associated with the communities I represent here in the blockchain world. As my involvement has grown and I have taken on more responsibilities, time had become an issue and a point of stress. Never enough hours in the day, especially when you want to spend a lot of it with your family. Although I have worked as an independent contractor my whole adult life, I had become dedicated to a single group for the last 6 years, so there were some things I needed to finish before I could cut ties and move on. It was definitely a big step, yet at the same time I felt like a huge weight was lifted from my shoulders - I felt free again.

I have always been fond of nature, except for the critters that get in my food gardens. If you have been following me for a while you will know that I put up a lot of photography posts with pictures of sunrises and sunsets, trees, flowers, abstract designs I find in everyday items, among other things. I usually spend at least 30 minutes every morning in my garden, giving things a once over, checking on the tomatoes and other food plants, and just marveling at how much things have grown since the previous day.

Throughout the day I take breaks to sit outside in the the front or back garden areas and just take in the peacefulness of surroundings I have created to mask the jungle of human clutter that is all around us. I watch the clouds changing shape in the sky, the birds in the trees, and the bees buzzing around the flowers. These things calm me down and bring me peace when I need it most.

If my son is with me, I stop him, to remind him to look up at the world around him. I want him to see the things most people don't, things people usually overlook or take for granted. Sometimes he gets annoyed with me... "Papa, ok it's the sunset again". No, no... this one is different than yesterday and it only looks like this to us right now, right here where we are standing and it will only last a few minutes. Everyone else will have a different perspective and see it differently, if they even bother to look up at it at all.

Friday-Flowers-04-PowerPics.png

Most of the time I have a camera of some sort nearby, where it's my 'real' camera or the camera on my phone, so I can capture things that catch my eye. All the pictures in this post were taken with my phone camera. Many times they are things that most people never notice, tiny drops of water on the ends of a leaf, the way overlapping flowers create interesting shadows on the lower leaves, the fine hairs along the vines and stems of our tomato vines. To be honest, I have no idea what I will ever do with the zillions of photos over the years - if anything they are a record of the fact that I noticed those moments in time.

Friday-Flowers-05-PowerPics.png

Life moves fast!
Don't forget to stop, take a deep breathe, and smell the roses along the way. Don't take it literally, unless you have roses in your garden of course, just take the time to see the beauty that is hidden in plain sight and enjoy those moments. It will help you focus on what's important in life and let go of a little stress at the same time.




Find Me On Discord
https://discord.gg/zsdWYQX

Let me know what your thoughts, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this
Please Share it!


Thank you for reading!

~ @SteemPowerPics

( PowerPics )

Sort:  

The photo with the yellow rose is so crisp - you can see all the veins and bumps on the petals. Great shot!

Thank you! I was a bit surprised myself on that one, and a pic of our tomato plant in another post, with the sharpness of the focus on my phone camera. It's a new phone, but not a "new model", Samsung J7 Prime. I dropped and broke my Galaxy S5 last week which was much better with colors and HDR, but this one is much sharper on focus.

Garden critters can become garden fertilizer. Circle of life. 🐇🔁🌱

LOL - Very True!

I can only agree with you on all of this.! You should be proud of what you have achieved already that you are able to take this giant leap into the 'sort of unknown'

Picking every moment and noticing small things is something that is not for everybody. I will never look away from a good sunset even though I can see it everyday. Life is precious man, and the hidden gems are all around us!

Thank you Karin! It's kinda funny at times... I enjoying seeing these things and find them everyday, but get so aggravated when a powerline or street light or building or some other hunk of human clutter blocks my view. "I'm trying to chill and watch a sunset here... geeeez!" You have to take 'em where you get them.

What a beautiful philosophy! What you do in the morning is to meditate with nature and appreciate its colors. I do too, and every day I am more surprised at the beauty of God's creation. Those photos I call them: the love of God in the colors of nature. How good that you teach your son to appreciate it

Thank you - we def have to take time to appreciate the good things around us, it helps counter out the negative things :-)

wow, big step to go "all in". I hope it works out well for you.

Thanks, Me too! LOL

Amazing looking this photography, I appreciate your flowers.....keep it up

Most welcome my dear friend......

Standing still to look at the beauty around us really makes me appreciate life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55