The sunset on Golden Pond called to me this evening, and strengthened my soul!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Today was a day to recover from cooking, and I was blessed with a stunning sunset! The colors blended red, pink, and orange; and draws the eye firmly to the west.

20190930_191741.jpg

The sky threw pink toned clouds high over the tree line:

20190930_191933.jpg

Backing off for a wider view:

20190930_191804.jpg

As the sun dropped lower, the colors began to wash out, beginning with the shorter wavelengths, blue and purple first, then yellow, with red the very last to go:

20190930_191815.jpg

This is as would be expected due to atmospheric refraction, bending longer frequency wavelengths more.

This location is in town, right behind a shopping center. If I turn around this is what I see:

20190930_192001.jpg

This shields me from traffic sounds of a 5 lane main road in Broken Arrow, for which I am grateful!

If I look to the north, one of the local water towers is half a block away:

20190930_192006.jpg

But this is a place of quiet reflection, and soul searching. I have enjoyed many pleasant sunsets here, and I hope you may have enjoyed a few with me!

Sort:  

What mud puddle is that?

Storm run off pond, nice and quiet....

:)>

well it looks like a black swamp so I guess pond scum fits right in there.

Well come on down then, ROFLOL! It is a nice quiet spot, a place to pause and reflect!

:)>

Now I know where the Creature from the Black Lagoon lives!

You should...He's a Texan!

:)>

lol! Well if he is then he's in deep South Texas.

I thought he was in Austin....

:)>

I'm glad you enjoyed it, I know I did. This is a favorite place to unwind!

:)>

Congratulations @smithlabs! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Interesting how they way we turn our head and what we choose to look at can change our Point Of View so drastically. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

So true, This is an almost magic place looking to the West, with the buildings blocking traffic sounds.

It is a good place to Loose stress, and strengthen one's soul!

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62