Found another computer store, added another kilowatt of salvaged laptop cells!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Let's talk solar! I found another computer store today that would part with salvaged laptop battery packs. I broke them down and got 130 of the 18650s lithium ion cells.

20190724_042006.jpg

Experience shows that after testing I should get probably 1100 Watts worth of good sales out of the 1300 Watts that I salvaged. Since I need 24000 watts, and this puts me over 9000 Watts of cells for my Net Zero house, I am over 1/3 of the way now.

This is enough to begin my system, because I could run them harder, and start with this 9000 watts. This is a 24 volt 375 amp battery, so it's not weak. I just want a 24 volt thousand amp battery, for long-term use.

I plan to supplement the Lithium-ion batteries with lead acid batteries initially while I finish the battery Banks I'm going to build. That way when the let acid batteries begin to weekend they will have been replaced by lithium ion cells. I can buy 4000 Watts a Lithium-Ion Sales brand new for about $250, so The Back-up Plan it's just buy what I need and build them up.

But I like the idea of running my NetZero house off of Salvaged batteries. I'm not a Greenie by any means, but I like the concept of re-purposing item to good use.

Besides, they are colorful, LOL!

20190724_042013.jpg

20190724_042026.jpg

These batteries will run my air conditioner continuously for over an hour, with no added power.

Sort:  

Reuse is much better than recycling. A great use of old cells.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree, they should last over 30 years. The new ones will go over 40 years!

I bet they would make a great car battery, LOL! Maybe after I am done with the house....

:(>

Ok - this is VERY cool! Re-use and re-purpose whilst cutting energy demand. I'm sharing this to @gogreenbuddy for extra support. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Thanks! When I hit the 24000 watt mark, I will be able to run the house two to three days without charge, including the high efficiency heat pump and 24 volt refrigerator and freezer. Once I add the wind generator, I will add the inductive cook top too. I will not just be camping out, LOL!

:)>

It made me happy for sure! Good find. It means another source also, which will get me there faster.

I need to find a few more sources, LOL!

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67167.98
ETH 3674.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76