San Francisco film photography

in #photography7 years ago

SF street_rp2.jpg

Film photography is my soft spot. Choosing one type of film over another, then how I shoot, and also how I develop the negatives adds unlimited opportunities.

SF street_rp.jpg

I knew the weather in the city was going to be rough, and since I wanted a full range of shutter speeds, I chose Ilford 3200. It's a great film to manipulate and play around with. It's an extremely forgiving film with lots of latitude. Don't listen to the haters, 3200 can pushed or pulled 4 stops in either direction. My go-to film for low light.

SF lobby_rp.jpg

Filters. I could write a thousand posts about filters. Not the instagram kind, not the software algorithm that happens when you hit a button, a real filter. (If you are new to film photography you might want to explore the fascinating world of "on lens" filters. I still learn something new every time I screw one on and shoot a roll.)

These images were shot with my favorite filter for 3200 iso film, my trusty Red #25.
That filter adds massive amounts of contrast to a very gloomy day.

SF boat_rp3.jpg

More grain please.

I developed my film with Kodak HC-110 developer. Love this shit. It will find grain that you didn't even know you had. I can't explain it except to say, the grain can bring out the dreaminess of a foggy day. So why not?

These images were not post processed on a computer, only scanned by my favorite lab in the world (Nelson Photo in San Diego, Ca) and resized for your viewing.

SF bridge_rp3.jpg

So yeah, film photography. An infinite amount of combinations and effects to create photographs that are truly original to you as an artist/photographer. Who doesn't love that?

Cheers!

Canon EOS 3 w/ 35mm 2.8
Ilford 3200 + Kodak HC-110 dev

@sloe © 2018

Sort:  

that is some lovely grain!

have you had a go at caffenol? it can make acros 100 grainy is you fuck up the temperature enough :D

You just blew my mind. I have never even heard of it. Are you lowering the temperature?

normally raising a bit and agitating more than usual. it's great in that it lasts quite a while as well, got about 15 rolls out of a liter over 3 months. it's nice but can be a bit of a hassle, I've switched to super prodol since i can now reading Japanese here a bit better.

Thanks for that information, you are a great resource. Following.

thank you Sloe :D following to see your caffenol :D

Thanks!
Love your film work as well, following.
😊

You're welcome!

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66