Visiting The Great Buddha of Kamakura - Highlights Of Traveling JapansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

 The Great Buddha of Kamakura (鎌倉大仏) also called Kamakura Daibutsu rests in the Kotokuin Temple grounds in Kamakura, Japan (just south of Tokyo).

Michelle and I visited the bronze Buddha statue with our tour group. The statue is a very popular attraction. It is also very large. 

The Buddha was made 1252 and originally resided inside a temple. The temple fell long ago, but the Buddha remains.

If you go at the right time, you can see the inside of the statue. There is a door on the bottom right side where you can enter. 

This specific Buddha statue is called the Amida Buddha.

 "Amida or Amitāyus, is a celestial buddha according to the scriptures of Mahāyāna Buddhism. Amitābha is the principal buddha in Pure Land Buddhism, a branch of East Asian Buddhism. In Vajrayana Buddhism, Amitābha is known for his longevity attribute, magnetising red fire element, the aggregate of discernment, pure perception and the deep awareness of emptiness of phenomena."   [Source - Wikipedia]

Lots of people & lots of cameras:

Michelle & I in front of the statue:

While I am not a believer or follower of Buddhism, I can still appreciate the art, creativity, and craftsmanship that was required to build this statue. It is quite impressive. 

It is important to remember that all religions are consciousness limiters to some degree, even Buddhism. 

Learn how to free you mind and be a voluntaryist.

Michelle and I took a month to travel across Japan and China this past May (2017). It was epic! Follow me @slickwilly and Michelle @curiouser for posts about our adventures!   

Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.  All pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.  I release everything under CC0.  

 My website: williamjohnsonlong.com   

 Affiliated Steemit Accounts: @bitcoinshirtz @trueliberty   

 My Previous Post 👉 A Sneak Peak Of The EOS Wallet 👀

Sort:  

Such a sweet statue man. Hard to believe it's that old and done with such precision.

I know, I was in awe of the craftsmanship. Too bad we got the 30 min late, we could have gone inside!

Damn, that sucks. Guess y'all will just have to go back, haha.

wow ,nice photo ......... i love this

wow such an amazing place to be in thanks for sharing some amazing pics :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71