Staying At Shobuko Temple Lodgings - Highlights Of Traveling JapansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

One of our more unique opportunities in Japan included staying overnight at a monastery at the top of Mount Kōya.

The experience was remarkable. The stillness and gardens are what I remember vividly. 

Shobuko Temple Lodgings is a Monastery operated by Buddhist monks, who practice a form of Esoteric Buddhism called Shingon Buddhism.

The monks performed many rituals, some of which we were able to observe. 

The most unanticipated part was the Japanese public bath. These were the only showers and there were designated times for sexes. Traditional japanese culture forbids taking clothes in the shower. The procedure is to sit on a stool and shower and then relax in the large heated pool with all the other shower users. 

I would have never guessed I would end up in a nude public bath with a bunch of old Japanese men. It was quite the experience.


Pictures From Our Stay

@curiouser posing on the stairs. 

Inside The Temple Lodging

Our simple bedroom. I actually loved our little rice pillows. Very hard but still comfortable. 

Eating at the Monastery

The food was very simple at the Monastery. The monks practically only ate rice and tofu. 

We were given a few additions like tempura vegitables but the main course of all meals was rice and tofu.

A Late Night Walk

 Konpon Daitō (根本大塔 aka Great Fundamental Pagoda) is a 50m tall two tiered pagoda in the central temple complex. It is the largest building in Koyasan. View more pictures of this pagoda in this Steemit post.


I do not follow Buddhism, but I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of staying at the Shobuko Monastery.  I felt truly immersed in the Japanese culture. 

Michelle and I took a month to travel across Japan and China this past May. It was epic! Follow me @slickwilly and Michelle @curiouser for posts about our adventures!  

 Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.  All pictures are my own, taken with a GS7 Edge or GoPro Hero 4. I release everything under CC0 unless otherwise stated.

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com   

Sort:  

What an amazing experience @Slickwilly! That looks like a place to recharge mental batteries.

@hilarski It absolutely was! The only thing that would have made it more relaxing would have been access to cannabis. That would have taken the relaxation and meditation to another level.

We were invited to join in on some of the monks meditation ceremonies. I wish I could have taken pictures, but it wasn't really the time or place.

Hey man awesome stuff here! I really want to go to Japan someday and get immersed in their culture. If you don't mind may I know how much was your budget for this particular trip? Thank you!

We did some stuff on our own, but we also joined a tour group that went across Japan and China. We did the tour with EF College Break. The tour part of the trip can be booked for about $5,000. I highly recommend EF College Break. The tour was great and we were with many young professionals and college students.
https://www.efcollegebreak.com/

Thank you! Looks like this will need a lot of tike for saving up. Im from the Philippines and 5k in USD is basically 250k php. Ill probably think of something. Hey if youve never been here hit me up. Ill be more than happy to be your tour guide. Haha

I would have never thought that there are pillows filled with rice :) Interesting post and great shots! Thanks for sharing them.

Michelle and most others hated them, but i'm a firm pillow guy. lol

Wow! Reminds me so much of those anime series and stuff - super cool to actually see it in real life, haha.

Are those beds any comfy? They look pretty thin.

Cheers!

It was some Hayao Miyazaki stuff for sure.
The beds were basically thick blankets, very minimalistic.

Ah wow. Any comfortable?

Nice sharing! I’m glad to enjoy japanese culture, temple and meals.
I upvoted you and followed you.:)

wow cool...I like your post

WOW Beautiful pics

Very serene and beautiful. Adding that to my bucket list. Thanks! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95