Pagodas And Bells Atop Mount Kōya - Highlights Of Traveling JapansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

There are many temples at the top of Mount Kōya in Japan, as the mountains are significant to followers of Shingon Buddhism.

We were able to see some of the most impressive pagodas on the mountain at the Koyasan central temple complex. 

Pagodas are tiered towers with multiple eaves and they can be found all over Asia.

This orange pagoda seen here is the Konpon Daitō (根本大塔 aka Great Fundamental Pagoda). The gigantic 50m tall two tiered pagoda is the largest building in Koyasan. It is said to be the center of the lotus flower mandala set up by Koyasan's 8 mountains. 

The temple complex is entirely dedicated to the teaching and practice of Esoteric Buddhism.

In the next picture you can see the Tsukubai at the Mount Kōya Pagodas. A Tsukubai is a wash basin typically placed at the entrance of holy places. When visiting Buddhist temples, followers purify themselves with the ritual of washing hands.

The Daito Bell and much of the temple complex was erected per the instructions of Kobo Dashi, the founder of Shingon Buddhism. Although Kobo Dashi's successor,  Shinzen Daitoku saw the actual completion of the bell. 

The Daito Bell is still rung five times a day. They ring it at 4AM, 1PM, 5PM, 9PM, and 11PM. 

I think I heard it twice. Once at the main temple complex and another at night in nearby temple lodging.

And here is the lovely pond at the Koyasan temple complex.

Even though I am not a follower of Buddhism, I found the temples and pagodas of Japan beautiful and fascinating.

Michelle and I took a month to travel across Japan and China this past May. It was epic! Follow me @slickwilly and Michelle @curiouser for posts about our adventures! 

Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  

Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.

All pictures are my own, taken with a GS7 Edge or GoPro Hero 4. I release everything under CC0 unless otherwise stated.

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com   

Sort:  

I used to see this in video games and movies, these pictures made me feel like i was there. Steem on !

Japanese architecture is soo original and beautiful. You find nothing like this in other places.

Nice post Will, love learning about Buddhism and Asia :) Resteemed :D

Hellooooooo my friend
excellent
i voted

WOW, what a great post, really interesting

Wow ,, beautiful her fhoto this, how do you get this beautiful picture?

it is nice place, I have been there last year. Thank you for reminding me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87