Where Eagles Fly : Escalante White Cliffs ~ Part 2 ~ Ancient Anasazi Ruins On the Riverbank

in #photography7 years ago

This area was the ancestral home to many Tribal Nations throughout time and this particular part of the Park Wash River was home to a the buried ruins of a small village that lay in the foreground of this picture, right along the riverbank.

This small river flows down from Bryce Canyon, whose pink Hoodoo cliff formations are visible along the distant horizon. These buried ruins along the river banks are a from a very old people known as the Ancient Anasazi, with is First Nations Diné for the; "Old Ones".

This post is Part 2 of a 4 part series about this unique area, to read the first post go here.

Ancient Anasazi Village Site at Box Elder Canyon ~ Click to Enlarge

In this second image below, enlarge the image and look closely along the lower middle of the image, next to the creek about a quarter of the way up, there is a tan-brown clearing with a small trail running alongside it. This is another site where ancient ruins were found, including multiple living dwellings, animal pens and storage houses, along with a number of burials.

Ancient Anasazi Village Site at Kitchen Corral Wash ~ Click to Enlarge

In this area they have found many dwellings and artifacts that show this small valley was farmed and hunted in for many thousands of years.  The small river running up through the image is called Park Wash.  At the bottom of the image where the river branches off to the right at Box Elder Canyon, do you notice that small area of land between the two branches of the river? That  is the location of one of the Ancient Anasazi Dwellings. 

If you are interested in the archaeology related to this very location in these images, go here to read their report on the discoveries.  

The following image is a panorama of the entire area showing the range of hunting, foraging and farming area these tribal ancestors occupied. This was a beautiful area, full of resources and mysterious geological formations when helped shape the traditional beliefs of these original occupants of this sacred place.

Panorama ~ White Cliffs & Kitchen Corral Wash ~ Click to Enlarge

I lensed these images at different times while exploring this awe-inspiring wilderness area for my ongoing project, "Where Eagles Fly". This is Part 2 of a 4 part series about this location. Stay tuned to the next 2 posts to get the full story and watch a film made while flying in the area.

About The Project

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us. I am piloting a bush plane while exploring and filming throughout the remote back-country areas of North America to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.

About The Author

My name is Zedekiah Morse and I'm a Bush Pilot, Photographer, Explorer and Filmmaker. I live in the Rocky Mountains and devote my time and resources to exploring as much of the world as I can by air. If you wish to watch a short film detailing how I do my work and this project, go here.

If you like what you see here upvote and resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places.

And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed, follow me.

Thanks for your support and Yehaw!!

Sort:  

Good photo :D

I am currently looking for information on safe and reliable travel.

Such a beautiful wild nature! thanks for the post

Thanks sir! Gald you liked it

You have taken some absolutely stunning shots! It must be a wee bit nippy up there with the windows open...how long would a session last before you need to warm up?

Way good to hear from you! I fly with the windows shut until I am ready to shoot, I use manifold heat which pulls heated air from around the engine and pushes it into my cockpit down by my feet so it stays pretty toasty. When I do open the window to shoot I can go for about 10 minutes before I start to freeze!

You are a brave man!

wow amazing article and awesome photography

Thanks!!!! Really glad you enjoyed it

My ow my Zedekiah, you nailed it with the color tones of that beautifully big panorama at the bottom! There is so much passion in your work here on Steemit! great to inspire new folks around here! thanks for that!


t.

Thanks so much! I hope this does inspire others !!

I am speechless ... I will use your words: “Just knowing such places still exist and thrive invokes feelings of wonderment, hope and immense joy.” Me and my husband visited some of these places (Zion, Bryce, Grand Canyon ...) but now I hope that we will have an oportunity to visit them again because we will for sure love, enjoy and cherish these places even more. Thank you 😃

Thanks so much Gaja.... I am very happy you have visited these places! And thanks so much for your support! yehaw!!!

Incredible beauty that naturally pamper the eyes
Wow nice photo

Wow what a nice thing to say!! Thanks so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42