Cutthroat Glacial Mountain Lakes at Dawn

in #photography7 years ago

I lensed this image of one of the numerous unnamed lakes that are part of the Cutthroat Glacial Lakes below Glover Peak in the Wind River Mountain Range of Wyoming. I was flying southbound from Montana to Utah early in the morning as the sun was barely rising in the east. I was attracted to this scene by the velveteen softness of the morning moisture in the air as it lay softly on the side of the mountain, emanating from the cold lake water and reacting to the air, slowly warming from the early dawn light. 

The Wind River Range covers an area 2.25 million acres large and is part of a triple divide, providing water for three major western watersheds: the Columbia River, the Colorado River, and the Missouri. 

The Winds (as they are known locally) are the most popular section of the Bridger Wilderness of western Wyoming. This is an intensely rugged part of the Rocky Mountains, extending for approximately 80 miles along the western slope of the Continental Divide. This range contains a unique combination of sharp jagged granite rock, lush alpine forests, and beautiful open alpine meadows. 

 this wilderness holds 7 of the 10 largest glaciers in the Lower 48, more than 2,300 crystalline lakes and ponds, and numerous glacier-carved cirques, kettles, valleys, and hanging troughs. 

Serving as the headwaters for the mighty Green River, the Winds contain more than 40 named peaks over 13,000 feet, including Gannett Peak, Wyoming's highest at 13,804 feet. 

Seven of the 10 largest glaciers in the Rocky Mountains are found here, including the single largest glacier in the American Rockies. 

There are over 1,300 named lakes in the Wind River Range, and more than 2,300 crystalline lakes and ponds, and numerous glacier-carved cirques, kettles, valleys, and hanging troughs. 

The Continental Divide uniquely crests the Wind River Range's entire length. 

From "Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition" my personal project of exploration in the North American Wilderness.

I am on a mission to raise awareness of our Iconic Natural Heritage Treasures of North America.

Please re-steemit if you like what you see and want to help spread the word!

Yehaw!
Sort:  

Your all the pics are amazing😍😍 @skypilot

Thank you! Very kind of you to say and I am glad you enjoy them! I certainly love taking them :)

Congratulations @skypilot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Amazing shot. Love the sky so much :0)
Great to capture art like that.
Upvoted resteemed. Thx for sharing

What a place to dump a few gallons of crude oil.

Wow, lots of great information on this post. I love seeing glaciers. I landed on one in Alaska.

I am sure it is awesome lake but i think picture is awesome itself!

What does it take to legally name a lake in Wyoming? How come there are so many un-named lakes? I'd like to name one!

Wonderful !! Upvote and I follow you! I love landscapes and nature. I have a post about the beautiful natural landscapes in my country. I invite you to meet, I hope you like and support me with your vote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49