A Journey In The New Zealand Native Forrest - In Pictures

in #photography7 years ago

I thought I would bring some relief to your eyes and some peace to your soul by sharing some of the images I have captured over the last little while. Hiking into the Native New Zealand bush around Tauranga New Zealand I have seen some wonderful sights. Waterfalls and lagoons, boulders for rock hopping and gigantic trees offering shade. 


The colours please the eyes and calm the nerves, there is a soft pallette of green and brown, but this is broken in bright contrast with oranges and reds. Throw in some relaxing running water, rippling the reflected light, bringing the blue hue from the sky down to meet the bush. 


The greatest thing about exploring and cutting your own path is some of the sights you come across. I have stumbled across remote three stage waterfalls, and gigantic kauri trees. There are usually one or two surprises as well. This is one of the dragon flies I found, still stretching his wings out. The other photo's are from SALVATION hut. This is not a public hut as such but has been built by 'sombody' years ago. There are stories scribbled down inside from hunters taking refuge from the battering rain in the middle of a storm, and others who have found refuge and salvation there. It is a timely reminder that shelter from the storm can be found in the most unlikely of places.














I am often in the bush or by the river (unless I am too busy steem-ing!!) so expect to see more photo's from around my beautiful country!!

You can see more of my local bush in my post about my secret hideaway here

https://steemit.com/nature/@silvernova/stop-take-a-breath-and-join-me-in-my-happy-place-videos-to-relax-the-soul-included

See some close up video of the Long Fin Eel I found in our bush as well. I feed him every time I go to my hideaway!

https://steemit.com/life/@silvernova/up-close-and-personal-with-a-rare-wild-new-zealand-long-fin-eel-video-included


More @silvernova
Sort:  

Looks great, I'm jealous you live in such a beautiful country.

Thanks, I try not to take it for granted, I try to get out and enjoy the sights, its great to be able to share what I encounter with everyone!

That looks so unreal! The colors and the shapes of the trees are amazing... And you are a nice photographer to catch the beauty of it! Cheers From Switzerland! Feel free to check my last post, maybe you'll like it. <3

Thanks for the compliments bro, I checked out your latest post and you now have a new follower. Nice tricks on the skateboard .... especially while juggling!!

Ahhhh thank you a lot. <3

Not only are you another Kiwi but it seems we are in the same area! Your photos of the bush and rivers are stunning and like you, I NEVER take for granted how much we have been blessed in living here. Might catch you on a trail one day haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61236.82
ETH 2672.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61