REVIEW OF VICOD 5G VAPEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I promised a review of my new vape last week , and here it is - a review of my new Atmos Vicod 5G vapouriser. I like my product reviews like my vapes - small and simple!

IMG_0964-02.jpeg

The first thing people remark on when they see the Vicod is how compact it is. It’s smaller than a phone and more like the size of an MP3 player. So it is truly pocket sized, and can pretty much disappear into the palm of a hand.

IMG_0970-02.jpeg

Before starting it up, you need to load up some ground or chopped herb. You just take off the mouthpiece, and can then drop anything from a small pinch to about half a teaspoon into the chamber.

IMG_0966-02.jpeg

The next amazing thing is how fast it is. Starting off from cold, five clicks of the power button (multiple clicks so it doesn’t get turned on by accident) and the digital temperature display starts to zoom up. In just under 30 seconds it’s up to 375 deg F and ready to use.

IMG_0968-02.jpeg

The temperature range is anywhere between 300 F to 435F, and once you have decided what temperature you like best, it remembers your previous temperature and automatically heats back up to it next time.

So no thinking required, just turn it on, wait 30 seconds and inhale. If you forget to turn it off, it turns itself off after five minutes.

It comes with two mouth pieces: Firstly a short plastic one that is designed to be compact. If you are going to be carrying the vape in your pocket, definitely use this one.

IMG_0972-02.jpeg

And for home use the longer glass mouthpiece is the better option. It cools the vapour astonishingly well. Water cooling options are available, but with the glass mouthpiece everything is surprisingly cool anyway.

IMG_0971-02.jpeg

Some reviews give the impression the 5G requires a lot of cleaning, but I haven’t found that – in fact it’s very quick and easy to clean, just using the handy cleaning brush it comes with.

The extra oil cup. The Vicod also comes with a handy little cup for oil and wax that drops into the barrel, making the vape suitable for using with oil as well as dry herb.

It works really well, but it was using this that led to the only minor problem I’ve had with the 5G. I couldn’t get the oil chamber out very easily. My solution to this is going to look a bit like overkill but I’ll mention it here because no reviews I’ve seen have discussed this.

I use an M8 bolt (a std metric 8mm fine thread bolt) and gently turn it a few degrees clockwise into the oil chamber, so it starts to connect with the chamber and allows it to easily be easily lifted out. A big machine bolt looks pretty hardcore, but it’s the perfect size for the chamber.

IMG_0948-02.jpeg

Undoubtedly there are other ways to do this, but the one I thought of first – tweezers – didn’t work, so I went for the bolt because I had some in the shed.

I’m guessing most people won’t use the oil barrel accessory anyway, but it does work very well and makes the 5G into a really versatile vape.

The 5G is often recommended as the ideal vape for first time vape users, and it is. It totally nails two superb features – ease of use, and simplicity.

IMG_0967-02.jpeg

For anyone who is holding back from buying a vape because or the price, I’d say it will rapidly pay for itself because it’s so economical. A little goes a long way. And that’s without getting into the vastly improved flavour over burned herbs.

As well as the two mouth pieces, the wax cup, and the cleaning brush, it also comes with a handy packing tool and some spare o-rings. The only other accessory I wanted to add myself was the M8 bolt.

IMG_0965-02.jpeg

The digital display shows the temperature in F or C and also how much battery charge is left. It charges up from a USB port, and with a full charge will run for about 90 minutes.

I think the 5G is absolutely brilliant and recommend it highly. It has everything I was after, and it looks really cool as well, with its stylish orange and black finish, and grippy surface.

It’s so discreet that yesterday I was using it and the person sitting next to me didn’t even notice. I wouldn’t go trying that in the bus, but at home in the lounge, I was pretty impressed.

This awesome device could change your whole herbal experience

My original post about getting the new vape is here:- https://steemit.com/vape/@sift666/my-new-vape-arrived-and-it-s-awesome

My vape was purchased from here: https://www.helenskinz.co.nz/collections/highly-recommended-vapes/products/atmos-vicod-5g-2nd-gen-dry-herb-vaporizer

All photos by @sift666


MY MINIMALIST STEEMIT SIGNATURE

For more info, see MY WHOPPING BIG STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Sort:  

awesome review :)

Glad you like it - and I haven't even fired it up yet today!

They're nothing compared to your review skills @sift666
sik.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89