Westtown Lake, PA

in #photography7 years ago

Boat House 3034x2017.jpg

As a child, on the 4th of July, my family would reserve the best spot for overlooking the beauty of Westtown Lake. More of a pond rather than a lake, this 16-acre alluring basin was created in 1912 for swimming, skating, and fishing for the community and campus students to enjoy. A place for recreation and to spiritually connect with nature.

Westtown Lake is home to deer, geese, and fish. Picnic areas surround the lake and canoes are available in the boathouse for bass fishing. A quiet and peaceful place, where, if you can imagine, a solo saxophone can be heard playing soft jazz.

My family was the only African American family to visit this lake even though I don’t recall any family members ever attending Westtown School or that lived in the area.

I never understood how my grandparents were able to reserve the best spot on a private lake for a school surrounded by an exclusive community of doctors and lawyers. My grandfather was a 33rd degree mason, perhaps that had something to do with it – I don’t know.

In any event, my family never witnessed any racial bias nor did we ever feel unwelcome.

This was years ago. My grandfather has since passed. His ashes grace this lake of solitude he once enjoyed with his family. Every once in a while, I’ll visit Westtown Lake to reminisce.

Sort:  

Thank you for your encouraging comment.

Congratulations @sidsilhouette, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38