📷 Yehliu Geopark - Re-edits of Old Photos from 2008 [original photos + anecdote]

in #photography8 years ago

Revisiting Old Work

How often do you go back and look at the old photos you took? I must admit, personally, not very often. Especially so if the photos are from way back when I started shooting.

Most of my old photos are repetitive, meaning that I when I see something worth shooting, I would make many exposures but would be too lazy to pick out the best ones afterwards. Nowadays I try to keep only the very best from each shooting session, as I think that process of self-critique will help to improve my photography.

I was going through some old photos today and came across a set of photos from an especially memorable trip. Back in August of 2008, I had a crazy idea one night to go visit Yehliu Geopark, an area with many natural geological rock formations caused by erosion. The only problem was I only had a bike and wanted to be there for the morning light, and not knowing exactly how long it would take to me to ride there, I left the house at midnight with my gear and tripod strapped to my bike.

The trip was at least 60 km, and I was glad I made it by 5:30 am without using GPS navigation (this was from a time with no smartphones), pretty lucky actually. It is one of those crazy things one does when they're young, and I'll never forget it.

你會去翻你曾經拍的舊照片嗎?我必須承認,我個人是不常,特別是那些在我剛接觸攝影時拍的照片。

我的老照片大部分相似度很高,因爲當我看到值得拍攝的東西,我會曝很多張,但回家後懶得去挑出最好的來保留。現在的我拍攝完都只留住我覺得拍的最好的,希望透過自我批評的過程能提升自己。

我今天翻了一些舊照片,看到一組特別難忘的旅程。在2008年8月,我有一個瘋狂的想法,就是去參觀野柳地質公園,一個自然地質岩層的地區。唯一的問題是我只有一輛自行車,也不知道騎到那需要多久時間,於是爲了能夠趕在日出前到達我半夜12點出門。

總里程至少60公里,很幸運的在沒有使用GPS導航之下(那時還不流行智慧型手機)我在上午5:30到達目的地。現在回想起來真覺得當年幹了一件瘋狂的事情,畢竟年輕嘛。

Re-editing the Photos

I've re-edited some photos from that trip which I think are worthwhile. I had a good time doing so while re-living the memories of that trip. Hope you'll enjoy them!

"Yehliu Panorama"

Digitally stitched from 8 photos.

"The Skull"

"Porous"

Close view of an eroded rock.

"Bridge over Calm Waters"

"Yehliu Early Morning"

"Log, Rock and Bridge"


Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

Critiques and comments are welcomed!

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

WOW the views are amazing, like in a video game it looks incredible, well done @shieha, I followed!

Thank you very much for viewing my post and leaving such a wonderful comment!

glad you revisited them to share.... very nice.

Thank you for your support!

Great photos! Did you bike back that same day or did you stay the night? lol, I think my legs would be tired after 60km!

Thanks! I continued riding afterwards, to the nearest city where I boarded a train back to the city I lived in, then it was a relatively short ride home from there :) I was pretty sunburned and super tired lol.

beautiful nature and excellent shots @shieha!

Thank you!

並排看起來很好玩:)<--- 離題

哈哈第一次po雙語言不知道該如何排版。

A time without smart phone but your camera serve you well with these pictures. :-)

Thanks, I can't imagine going to an unfamiliar place without GPS navigation nowadays :)

Great post, I have featured this in my "Today in the Spotlight" segment on today's post!

Thank you so much @daveks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56665.04
ETH 3021.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22