📷 Photography Tip - How a Slight Change in Position Can Have Dramatic Results

in #photography8 years ago

Small movements equals big difference

Especially for telephoto and wide angle lenses.

Today I'd like to offer a simple photography tip with the help of photos of a bird I shot.

The tip is simply to change the shooting position to get a better composition or remove distractions in the frame. Here's a before shot:

Right after I took this shot, I noticed the distracting white wall behind the bird. So I moved to my right slightly and took a series of shots. Below is one of them.

Notice how the background is more pleasing than the photo taken from the initial position. Here's a side-by-side comparison:

Before

After

Hope you found this tip useful!



Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

Critiques and comments are welcomed!

Questions on technique employed or gear are also welcomed!

Sort:  

Its always a difficult one with a moving target

Yeah, most wildlife photographers aim their camera towards a scene that they like and just wait for the animal to come in.

Now that's a useful tip -- and it says something about the dedication of a wildlife photographer! : )

@shieha works for me
thank you!
I didn't think it was a wall
I thought it was water or clouds on the horizon
Great shot with that bird!

Thank you!

This is the reason I move around and up down even to look at a subject.
Good tip.

Much improved on the second shot! The first one is still nice though. :)
Great tip about composition!

Thank you, now that I look at the images again, I like the bokeh of the first. The second shot has a shorter distance between the bird and the background, so the bokeh is not as pleasing.

I think the bokeh works in the second image fine. I do like the bird's posture a bit better in the first image. @englishtchrivy said the building looks a bit like a lake, perhaps try cropping out the red door, then the illusion would be complete!

Thinking more about the background of my potential photos has really made me see my own yard in a different way. Now I'm always thinking about how I can get distracting things out of my photos, like my garden carts.

:) Hehe garden carts could be a distraction if that's not what you intend to communicate in a particular photograph. But on the other hand, it could tell a story and give your photo context.

Let's just say my yard has its share of background distractions, and the stories they would tell, would cautionary, at best, lol! ; )

Lol ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57