Views from the boat: Twilight mood and glowing sunsets

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6611.jpg

What I enjoy most about sailing is being outside all the time. Wind, weather, sun and sea - non-stop. Even the nights I spend on deck under the open sky. To fall asleep slightly rocked by the sea and with a view on the starry sky is simply fantastic.

And not to forget the twilight mood and sunsets while being on a boat. Of course, sunsets can be wonderful on land, too. Most of the time, however, you choose a certain point to enjoy it for a rather short moment. At sea, however, one feels almost embedded in the atmosphere and is exposed to it much longer, from the first golden colouring of the afternoon until the first stars light up. Every day anew, at least when the weather allows for it.

Here is a small compilation for you, covering the different stages, from golden afternoon to the last rays of sunshine:

IMG_6610.jpg

IMG_6612.jpg

IMG_6716.jpg

IMG_6621.jpg

IMG_6620.jpg

IMG_7360.jpg

IMG_7365.jpg

IMG_6760.jpg

IMG_6796.jpg

Thanks for watching and 'til next time!

Shaka


All photos were recorded by myself with a Canon EOS 7D. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Thank you @shaka.

These are lovely photographs in a timeline as it were.

Appreciated reading your thoughts on sailing.

All the best to you.

Cheers!

Thank you @bleujay, all the best to you, too!

Gosh! Your photos are very good, they convey all your moods and the waters too.

Lucky you to be sailing there!
What a life in bliss and blessings!

What a life in bliss and blessings!

Well, I can manage to do this about once in three years. We are a group of 8-10 friends with two of them being skippers and together we are renting a yacht for 5-7 days. Per person and week it costs about half the prize of a ticket for a mainstream cruise liner (on which no wild horses could drag me). And we eat pasta the whole week ;)
So yes, it is a wonderful experience yet not that costly as one might think (at least if you rent as a large enough group including a friend who is skipper).

Cheers!

a week of pasta, for such an adventure... hell yes. where do i sign up?

Wow! This is such as good idea, everyone can enjoy an ideal holiday. Luckily you have got a skipper friend, very handy!
Pasta is delicious and give lots of energy for swimming all day in the sea.
It is not easy to get several people to be available for a holiday at the same time. That requires lots of planning and coordination.

Thank you for giving me the tip on how to have this kind of holiday at a very reasonable cost. You are very blessed to have several good friends.

Best wishes.
Cheers.

Fantasy up taking photographs - I wonder when people on sailing boats started to dart into the open. I myself would be a cowered sailor. I would only sail along the coast line to explore the foreign. Actually, I would like to do that indeed. Without an engine only taking the winds force. ... Then I would not only need a skipper but also some kind of black beard:)

Watching sunset from the deck of the boat and glass of wine in the hand.. mmm sound like a dreamy summer evening:)

I wish I could enjoy all those things you write about above but I am usually terribly sea sick on any boat :D :( Still, I love watching the boats anchored in the harbor, especially during the sunset, just like you captured that in the 7th shot. That is a breathtaking scene @shaka. Reminds me of an image I took on the Greek island of Zakynthos some years ago.

DSC03470.JPG

Greek islands are extremely photogenic :)

The radial color gradient is amazing, wonderful shot!

I got sea sick already several times. The first time was just terrible since it came totally unexpected and I had nothing with me to counter it. There was absolutely nothing I could do apart from cowering in the cockpit. Since then I always have these anti-travelsick chewing gums with me when on board. They work quite well for me.

Thank you, it was a very nice and peaceful sunset back on that day :)

So the gums work for you? That´s good. I wish I could say that too but I cannot. So far, none of the medicines, pills and things I have tried to fight the sea sickness have worked... It is funny - I totally love the sea and have been obsessed with it since my childhood but I would be a terrible sailor :D

Have a great day @shaka and enjoy the long-awaited cooling down! ;)

Presne toto rovnaké sa mi vybavilo :) :-*

Actually, if a sunset is beautiful from the mainland, I can not imagine the delicious sensation of being rocked in the arms of that imposing sea, at the same time as feeling the sea breeze, and the experienced freedom must be the maximum, I imagine that are two pleasures one when you are in the place surrounded by so much beauty and two, when you go back to those shots the joy is double, I congratulate you for your excellent work of the various sunsets, and also thank you for sharing your beautiful section of photographs, greetings from a distance. @shaka

@shaka, For sure, whenever people enjoy the water side journeys then for sure the main and beautiful aspect is the wind and wind really touches and welcomes us.

And literally i want to say that you've captured some dancing water view and it's giving the beautiful effect too.

And Sun is saying that explore me and my art and get healed, and in my opinion you've covered all beautiful aspects in this post.

And yes, when night covers the sky then we search for the first twinkling star which gives the decorative essence to the sky.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Nice photography my friend. Sunrise, full day and then sunset. Life cyclegoes in this way. Should we be happy with sunrise and sad with the sunset, or simply should we enjoy every moment of the nature? I think the last option is the best Choice. We should enjoy life no matter what time is this. Happiness is the best thing and your posts always brings happiness for us.

Grat views of sunset and moon.amazing.

Looks so peaceful. Enjoy your time at anchor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97