A day at Hogwarts – my Harry Potter inspired photoshoot

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow potterheads, since you seemed to like my post about the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, I thought I‘d share with you a few pictures from a spontaneous photoshoot I did a while ago.

Slytheringirl1.jpg

In february, Germans celebrate what we call „Fassenacht“ or „Fasching“ in my region. Outside of Germany, I guess the tradition is more commonly known under the name of Carnival. People dress up in masks and costumes to go to big parades and street parties, to celebrate the beginning of the Lenten period.
Last year, I dressed up as a Slytherin student, with my boyfriend going as Severus Snape ;)

Slytheringirl11.jpg

I really wanted to take some cool pictures, but I didn‘t like how they turned out at home, so I thought of a better location. What I came up with was this little park in a town close to where I live (I frequently walked my aunt‘s dog there when I was a child). The park has a little castle in the middle, next to a small lake, which was perfect for my Hogwarts setting.

Slytheringirl3new.jpg

After we came back from the parade in our town, I asked my boyfriend if we could stop by the park to take some pictures. It was pretty cold that day and it was already quite late, so we didn‘t have much time before it would get too dark, especially since it had been a gloomy day - sounds like perfectly authentic scottish weather to me ;)

Slytheringirl10.jpg

My boyfriend is also not a professional photographer, so setting up the camera and instructing him took some time, and I was afraid we wouldn‘t be able to get any good shots. Fortunately, everything worked out very well and I was more than happy with the results.
As you can see, I had much fun with the editing ;D

SlytheringirlHippogriffnew1.jpg

By the way, I got the hair bow and the Cardigan from EMP (https://www.emp-online.com/), but I think it‘s the same one they sell at Hot Topic. The tie is from Amazon, and the scarf is a replica of the original wool scarves from the movies (I got this from a German online shop called Elbenwald, but you can probably get it somewhere else, as well.)

Slytheringirl14.jpg

I like how the pictures turned out, however, it bothered me that the uniform did not look as ‚authentic‘ as I wanted. Except for the scarf, the outfit didn‘t look like the uniforms they wore in the movies - Yes, I am a perfectionist, in case you hadn‘t noticed ;)

Slytheringirl4.jpg

When I was at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando this october, I finally bought a licensed replica of the tie, as well as one of those grey wool cardigans they wore in the movies. I also ordered an authentic replica of the robe, so for the next photoshoot, expect me to be wearing a ‚real‘ Slytherin uniform :D
I think I'll also include a lot of cool items in the next one, such as a pack of Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans, a Chocolate Frog, some real Gringotts coins, and whatever other magical items I can come up with.

Slytheringirl8.jpg

Slytheringirl5new.jpg

Slytheringirl9new.jpg

Sort:  

Wow.. really great pictures. I like the special effects and your posing a lot :)

Congratulations @seelikeme! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great job on the digital editing - really enjoyed the hippogriff :) Much love - Carl "Totally not a bot" Gnash




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original and truly creative work of the post author.

Learn more:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original and creative content creator! You rock!

Thanks Carl! I really enjoyed the editing process as well, especially since I "assembled" the hippogriff myself, because I couldn't find a decent picture online. I constructed it from one horse and three different eagle pictures ;)

Oh that is so cool! BTW that is totally the kind of information you should consider adding to future posts. Readers are very interested in "behind the scenes" access, glimpses of artwork in progress through process pictures are extremely popular as are posts that show the PhotoShop or digital editing techniques used to create an image. I for one would love to see the different starting images, how you combined them, what kind of effects you used, etc. - this could be an entire post on its own, this one hippogriff! (I really do love it - that tickles me pink that you created the hippogriff! I assumed that was copied in already created from some external source)

Cheers - Carl

Congratulations @seelikeme! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40