P + T = Études-TableauxsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

_MG_6009 (1).jpg

In a previous post, I talked about my growing interest in calligraphy and typography as artistic elements. I had the idea of somehow incorporating that to my photography. One option would be to print the image and using pen and ink inscribe the paper with asemic writing (writing with no specific semantic content).

I started taking classes in Spencerian penmanship, which was considered the American de facto standard writing style for business correspondence in the late 1800s according to Wikipedia. I had to relearn how to write applying no pressure to the pen in order to generate those elegant hairlines and shaded strokes.

_MG_9208-as-Smart-Object-4 (1).jpg

However, writing with an oblique pen has a learning curve and after months of practice as if I were back in grade school, I realized I would not be able to produce high-quality work, so I settled for adding type on the computer.

_MG_0873-as-Smart-Object-8.jpg

My series Études-Tableaux was then born at the end of 2016. I selected evocative photographs of ballet dancers in rehearsal, that I knew were mysterious enough to entice viewers to get closer. Then, by adding layers of type, I expected to make those images even more intriguing. I wanted to create images that did not provide the finished story but offered just enough elements to draw viewers closer and let them fill in the blanks and make scenarios based on their own experiences in life. The series relies on viewers to finish the work. I was inspired by very creative artists and calligraphers such as Thomas Ingmire, David Brown, Áron Jancsói and many others.

_MG_0891-as-Smart-Object-2.jpg

The series has not yet been published other than on my own website, so this is the first introduction to the general public. I hope you like it and please, let me know in the comments below what you think about this work. I really appreciate your feedback.

_MG_8986-as-Smart-Object-4 (1).jpg

Note: Photography + Typography = new series titled Études-Tableaux. "Études" suggests exercise, repetition, and rehearsal. "Tableaux" means paintings, pictures, and representations of scenes from a story.

_MG_0534-as-Smart-Object-6.jpg

All images © Eduardo Fujii

--
Eduardo Fujii
Website: https://eduardofujii.photography
Email: [email protected]
Steamit: @sea-otter

Sort:  

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human 😊!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

@originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @pixresteemer. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sea-otter to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Thank you, pixresteemer 😀 So you are definitely one of my followers. I suspected that you could be part of whalepower, but I did not include that tag this time, so you saw my post in your feed. 😛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93