Tilt-Shift Lens Fun Above Reno, Nevada

in #photography6 years ago

Tilt-shift lenses are a lot of fun. When you are above cities or towns, you can make them look like they are a toy model of the area. I shot this during a Great Reno Balloon Race - Media Day, when I was hired to get some marketing photos for the event organizer. Flying in a hot air balloon was a great way to get many of these type of toy photos of Reno. This bight and cheery shot was one of my favorites.

_MG_9782.jpgclick for larger view

Shot on a Canon 5D Mark II with a 24mm Canon tilt-shift lens. The aperture was f4.0, a wider aperture can increase the softness on the top and bottom of the photo enhancing the toy look. The shutter speed was 1/640 second, nice and fast to deal with the moving balloons. The ISO was 50.

If you've never seen a tilt-shift lens, it has knobs on it that help you tilt the lens up or down to help create this effect. It also can help straighten vertical lines when shooting architectural type photography but I tend to like it best for this more fun purpose. Here is a look at Canon's 24mm tilt-shift lens on their website Phone editing apps can create a similar look but I find it a lot more fun to use the proper lens for the job.

Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

Entry for @juliank's @photocontests #cityscapephotography and #vehiclephotography

CConference.png

Sort:  

Tilt-shifts are funny lenses. A friend of mine has one and I have borrowed it some times. But I dont know how much it would be used if I bought one.
Maybe a project for later.
Take care!!!

Thank you @gyldenhorn. I don't use it a ton but every once in a while it's fun when getting creative or useful when shooting certain architectural projects. Have a great day!

Good photo. I like the shift-tilt effect. Works well with video too.

Thank you @sharpshot! I've never tried the tilt-shift with video, I'll have to give that a go sometime...

Wow I would love one. Have been thinking about the Samyang as the Canons are so darn expensive . Have your heard anything about it ?

I haven't looked into the Samyang. I can tell you that the Canon is incredibly sharp and I like it a lot when I need it, but yeah, it wasn't cheap...

WoW Scott, this is a perfect shot, and tilt-shift effects. Very nice.

Thank you @micco4! Glad you like it, the tilt-shift lenses are a lot of fun.

Yes @scottshots exacly, I used to play a little bit of tilt-shift photography. Really fun and great effects.

Nice @micco4. Super cool effects, I even like it for certain types of creative portraits.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 00:15:31
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 498.68/800.00
Total Photos: 55
Total comments: 27
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64