Historic Downtown Truckee, California Photo

in #photography7 years ago

Today was a good day. I got out for some fresh powder turns at Squaw Valley Ski Resort with my son. The first couple runs of the day off KT-22 were AMAZING! I'm really bad about taking photos when snowboarding, my mind is always focused on riding, another love of mine.

In celebration of the fresh snow around here, I thought I'd post a snowy scene of the town I live in. Truckee, California (about 20 minutes from Squaw). I shot this in the early morning last year, a bit before sunrise, after a big snow storm. This is the historic downtown area of Truckee.

Photographed with a Canon 5D SR. 24-105L lens, f8, 30 seconds. A headlamp was used to light the snow in the foreground.

Downtown Truckee 34.jpg

Downtown Truckee 34

Thank you for looking, have a great Saturday evening!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography

Sort:  

TRUCKEE!!!!

You have to know my good friend Karen Hutton then?

Truckee is awesome. I do know of her and I've seen her prints around town. But, surprisingly, I don't believe I've ever met her.

Well then next time i'm there all 3 of us will have to get some lunch or even go shooting.

Hit me up, I'll be there!

Another incredible shot! For some reason I get a feeling of Christmas from it. Maybe the fresh crisp clean white snow blanketing the trees or the gold glow of the lights from the town below.

Thank you! You should see how crowded downown gets during Christmas and New Years. When it snows, it totally looks like a storybook Christmas town. Definitely a vacation destination.

Amazing photo and equipment as well. :D

Thank you! The Canon 5D SR has been a dream to use. The big prints look incredible.

Yeah, the light was really interesting that morning. I think it was the lights of Truckee reflecting off the low clouds.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=scottshots
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=historic-downtown-truckee-california-photo


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 00:58:52
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 21.45/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68322.00
ETH 2716.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74