Happy First Day Of Spring! And Some Tahoe Area Snowy Spring Photos

in #photography6 years ago

Hooray! Today was the first day of spring here in Tahoe! And surprise surprise, it snowed last night, again... It often snows here in Tahoe in the early spring, but it's been sunny lately so it felt like a bit of a punch to the gut, waking up to about an inch of fresh white snow.

This photo was shot this afternoon. Since it was the first day of spring, I decided it was time to get rid of my mountain man beard so I shaved. I also got a hair cut, what a difference when I look in the mirror. I felt like myself again! But as you can see, we still have a while before the snow completely melts in the yard and the flowers start blooming. Sadly, it's going to be a late start to vegetable gardening season.

20190320_144148.jpg

I thought I'd share a few other early spring photos from years past. It's totally normal to have snow storms up here in the spring time. Sometimes, it can make for a great addition to the wildflower photos I capture:

Snowy Sagehen Meadows 2.jpg

Snowy Daffodil 1.jpg

Snowy Sagehen Meadows 4.jpg

It was a big winter this year with tons of snow, I'm hoping the meadows will have tons of flowers soon but really, it might be too much snow and the meadows may have too much water for flowers to grow and bloom. It happens, we shall see...

I hope you had a great first day of spring, hopefully it actually feels like spring where you live. Cheers!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

Oh brrr!!! But we are supposed to get a lot more snow in the next week... It won't be -9 though, wow...

Happy Spring!! Beautiful shots as always. :)

You are looking good! I've been meaning to ask you how you are feeling and how recovery is going. <3

Thank you @coruscate! Things have been going incredibly good compared to how I was told they would go. Back to shooting properties and feeling great most of the time. I get a little dizzy and tired on occasion but I feel I'll be back to 100% soon. Just, sadly, no more drinking or smoking weed allowed... The doctors also told me no more snowboarding or backpacking allowed but I have a feeling I'll be breaking those last two rules, lol. Hope things are going great for you!

Ooh, some high snow walls still there. You are like on 45 degrees latitude, have a ton of snow. I am way more north on 60 degrees latitude and no sign of snow here anymore. Unless you are 3000ft above sea level, I don't get it :D

Yeah, it's going to be a while before those walls are gone... And very good! I'm in California but at about 6200ft elevation. We've lived at this house for about 17 years and this is one of the 3 biggest snow years during that time. Cheers!

You still have a lot of snow there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, it's no joke this year. It's been this big before but not very often. Going to be a while before we see flowers... Cheers!

Spring is awesome. I always look forward to spring.
You pictures are breathtaking as usual!
keep em coming!


I visited your profile looking for updates and I am so happy to see you out and about, you are looking great!
Hope you are feeling great, too.
Love you and your creativity!

Snowing again today, and it's supposed to snow most of next week... lol! Thank you! Glad you like the photos. Yes, I've been getting out a bunch lately and every time I do, I end up feeling a little better. Hopefully I'll be back to shooting landscapes again soon. Have a great weekend my friend!

Nice photography man !

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Been at it a while... Looking forward to following you and seeing your posts now. Cheers!

Dear scottshots:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Congratulations @scottshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Happy Birthday! In a few hours, the Steem blockchain will be running for 3 years.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82