Bobcat In My Backyard Just Now!

in #photography6 years ago

Just a few minutes ago, my wife @athompsoncpa said there was a bobcat in the backyard so I quickly grabbed my camera and was able to fire off 3 photos before it took off. Not my best work but I was happy to see it.

_Q1A4370.jpg

Shot on a Canon 5DS R with a 25-105mm lens set at 105mm. The image is heavily cropped. I set the camera to speed priority mode at 1/200 second since I knew that I wasn't going to have much time to mess around with exposure settings once I caught up with the bobcat. The ISO was 800, the camera chose the best aperture for the exposure which was f4.0.

The location is the Schussing Way greenbelt in the Tahoe Donner area of Truckee, California. About a 150 feet from my house.



Thank you for looking!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

Are those common in your area?

Posted using Partiko iOS

They are definitely up here but they are not really common and usually pretty elusive. I've only seen a few others while driving in my 16 years of living in the Tahoe area. Do you get them in your area?

I have been told on the mainland yes but not very common, I have never seen one. I have however seen a few cougars which scares the crap out of me every time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, I've seen a mountain lion/cougar while out shooting wildflowers one morning. It scared the crap out of me too. Those guys are a lot bigger. I always keep a look out over my shoulder when photographing now. F those guys... The local black bears don't bother me, but mountain lion, no thank you.

Super cool. I've never seen a bobcat, those guys aren't too easy to spot from what I understand.

My dream is to see a mountain lion someday. I'm pretty sure they've seen me before, way out in the wilderness, but it would be nice if I could see one of them. :)

It did not stick around long and I think it was surprised that I got close enough to startle it. Three photos and it was out of there though! This little guy wasn't that scary. F mountain lions. I was shooting wildflowers one morning years ago and happened to look over my shoulder in time to see one dart across the meadow maybe 200 feet behind me. I've been looking over my shoulder when I shoot ever since... Seeing it gave me a weak, powerless feeling I did not like.

You tell that mountain lion to come right out here to Leadville Colorado and say hello to me.

Will do, he's all yours...

How cool is that @athompsoncpa! @scottshots!
A nice outside cat 🐾 I can't say the word m o o s e
less my dogs go nuts lol
Do you see them often? I only seen
two in all the years in N. California.

Haha! Yeah, no mooses here fortunately.
I've only seen a few bobcats in my 16 years of living in Truckee. Always from my car until this one.
I thought it was gone but then when I got close to the little ditch in the backyard, there it was!

@scottshots, wow! This is a nice shot! Btw, aren't the bobcats dangerous?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! They are a bit, but not nearly as dangerous as our rare local mountain lions. I didn't feel concerned with how far away I was. This photo was cropped pretty heavily so it looks like I was closer than I actually was. Cheers!

Yay, you caught him!!
Good job, Im sure he didnt hang around for long. Thanks for sharing! Bobcats are such cool animals! ♥

Woohoo! I did indeed!
Nope, he took off right away.
Happy to share a quick look at the cool cat.

A quick glance at the title left me expecting to see a piece of machinery 😂 great shot!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha! Nope, just the original bobcat.

This ones better anyway 😀😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Indeed! I was stoked to see it. Hope things are going great with your adventures!

wow! you got a nice shot of it

Thank you @doitvoluntarily! Glad you liked that.

Congratulations @scottshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78