My dragonfly macrophotos

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hey steemers,

here is a selection of photos I took of dragonflies. It took me a lot of running and jumping in the underwoods to take photos at the right moment. Dragonflies can be some super fast dudes.

What a beautiful creation of nature they are...

Thank you for visiting :)

Sort:  

awesome pictures, I recently caught this nice image with my phone in my yard.

Beautiful shots, were they taken with your phone?

Very cool shot, looks like a hungry one :D
No I used Canon 450D + Canon 60mm 2.8 Macro

Nice photos! That last one is a damselfly. They are related to dragonflies, but only the damselfly can fold its wings over its body like that. And a dragonfly has such large eyes that they meet in the middle, but the damselflies have a gap between their eyes. I think of them as flying image processing machines. So much of their brain is devoted just to processing what comes in from their eyes.

Thank you, thats really interesting, didn't knew that!

Oh wow!
Beautiful photos indeed!
They are super fast and getting clear photos especially while flying is very difficult!
Love the post and its cool we both posted dragonfly photos on the same day!
Dragonflies are beautiful and though ancient, are still leading the way in flying technology!

https://steemit.com/photography/@quinneaker/photographic-perspective-dragonfly-the-ultimate-flying-machine-natures-technology-inspires-todays-leading-edge-technological

From now on the 12th october should be day of the dragonfly

haha -- that's a great idea. We need a Steemit Celebration calendar or some monthly declarations.

A very strangely beautiful creature. We have a dragonfly festival here in Roswell NM every year. I had a unique encounter once. There was a very large dragonfly trapped in the store I worked at about a year ago. It was flying around desperately trying to get out. After spending an hour trying successfully to catch it, I opened the door and released it. It flew out of my hand immediately, but instead of taking off, it turned around and hovered in front of me for 10 -15 seconds, then took off. It seemed like it was saying thank you.

That was a very kind act from you. Sure it was saying thank you! I think because of the too materialistic view of science, animals are showed way dumber than they actually are.

Say welcome to your 30th follower 8-).

Welcome! Refollowed :)

Thank you for your support

Thanks, I like your photos too, following you now! :)

I liked your article. Helps you like mine ♥ @siams

How cute the red one is smiling :)

I can imagine flying from leave to leave while being super beautiful must be a happy life :)

Very nice photos. What equipment did you use?

Thank you!
Canon 450D + Canon 60mm 2.8 Macro

I definitely will! Same for you ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69183.52
ETH 3807.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71