Sort:  

Lots of folks here in Michigan pick and eat wild mushrooms. I never have because I am not too confident in my ability to tell them apart! Its nice to see you on here. I remember you from 8app and Rabadaba. I just posted for the first time today!

welcome on steemit!

Those are nice photos, @sardrt! The little Amanita look so pretty.

I eat a lot of different wild mushrooms. But I only eat ones that I can positively identify so I know exactly what they are. Why? To avoid eating mushrooms like this, for sure. It is OK to look at these mushrooms and even handle them to study. But don't get them mixed up in a basket of mushrooms for the kitchen.

This mushroom is not native to North America. It was introduced here and has been spreading. It is the source for serious poisonings. But it should not cause anyone to avoid wild mushrooms. It means we should take the time to really get to know our wild mushrooms, so we can identify them correctly. It's worth joining a local mycological society and go mushroom hunting with experienced people. We can appreciate even the non-edible fungus! : )

I agree with you. I have been part of a mycological association and I'm very careful when I pick mushrooms ....

I am amazed at how much some people know about fungi - and a good mycological association is the way to find those people. I'm glad you have one in your area. And I bet you are one of the folks who know a lot about mushrooms -- you sure know how to take good photos of them and really see their special characteristics!

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here. Join us In the Foraging-Trail and let's discuss Foraging Related Topics

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52