Peruvian Cuisine For Lunch

in #photography6 years ago

Good afternoon to everyone on a beautiful Sunday, and I do mean beautiful. Last week was pretty hectic, so I decided to relax around the neighborhood today (or my barrio as the locals say). The neighbors came over this morning and invited me over for lunch. It was after the invitation to lunch that I decided not to even touch the ATV today. Each region of Peru has its own unique flavors and ingredients which they cook with. Angela, my neighbor who invited me to lunch, is from the mountain regions of Peru and her meals are fantastic. Angela and her family have been friends of mine for many years, so naturally I had to accept their invitation to lunch. In the mean time I am just killing some time around the barrio. Lets check it out.

Looks like there is not much going on. We have someone cleaning their car, someone doing laundry, and someone going surfing. Out of those three activities I would say surfing peaks my interest the most. I say we head over to the beach and check it out before lunch is ready. The short walk will help whip up our appetite. Lets walk a different way then normal so we can stop by and pay Christian a visit. Christian hangs out across the street on weekends and holidays where he acts as a sort of gate keeper. It is not an official job...just a job which he created out of thin air. Gotta hand it to him though seeing as how he is hustling. Lets go say hello to Christian and check out his homemade office.

Like I said Christian is a hustler. He gets people to pay him to open the gate, even though they can do it themselves. Christian actually makes some money on the weekends, and I take my hat off for him. He is starting to get mad at me now for taking pictures. Looks like he is picking up rocks and throwing them at me. Luckily the kids around here grow up playing soccer and not baseball...Christian has a terrible throwing arm.

Looks like we are in luck! Jorge is here and he is selling desserts. During the week Jorge sells ice cream here in Lobitos...but apparently he is mixes up his merchandise on the weekends. Lets get a snack and check out the beach.

Ocean is looking nice and the waves are looking fun. Waves will get better as the tide gets lower throughout the day. I am ready to eat some food then go surfing. Hopefully lunch is ready!

Luckily for us Jorge showed up with those snacks, because we still have a bit of a wait for lunch. One thing for sure is that I know its going to be worth the wait. Angelas son Harold is outside watering his garden as he waits for lunch. I think the garden is looking pretty good. Harold has spent some time on it and he seems to like the work. Looking around the neighborhood I notice that we are not the only ones that are hungry. I even caught Jorge eating some of his own desserts!

Just got the word that my plate is being served up right this very moment. I say we go take a seat on the porch and wait for lunch to be served.

While waiting on the porch for lunch I closed the gate to keep the dog out. Closing the gate did not work against this little guy.

OK. All of the animals are outside and my plate is ready. Time to dig in. Grab and growl you all!!!

This dish is known as Sopa Seco con Carapulcra, and it is delicious. The meal is from the mountain regions of Peru, but I am on the coastline enjoying it for lunch. The flavors are off the chart good.
I have to say that was very filling, and enjoyable to eat at the same time. Looking forward to see what next Sundays meal will be. Hope everyone had a great weekend and remember its not over yet. Its still Sunday so enjoy the rest of it. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
On the way from leaving lunch I was confronted with this scene. I think they are working together to come up with a master plan on how to get past the gate. I see them looking at me with those mischievous grins on their faces.

Sort:  

Life is very simple. WE just need to just live!

Life is simple, but it is quite easy to make difficult at the same time. Just by living life you are making it simple. Thank you for the reply and I will be checking your posts. Have a great Sunday evening and enjoy!

Great post! I just followed you and upvoted you! Follow me back @relsserd.

Actually went ahead and started following you before reading your reply. I just read your post on managing time and gave you an upvote as well. Have a great Sunday afternoon and enjoy.

I enjoyed reading about your Sunday afternoon routine sandflea. That Sopa Seco con Carapulcra looked tasty and the surf looked nice too. I'd have definitely been surfing in the waves before lunch to work up an appetite. Nice pics and post :-)

That meal was fantastic. I actually had to take a short siesta to get my bearings straight. The waves got better...in fact I just got out of the water. I am glad you enjoyed the post and thank you for replying!

Hey there buddy. Just checked out your channel and liked what I saw. I am an avid reader so I signed up to follow you. Looking forward to some good reading material. Thanks

Hi sandflea,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much...means a lot to me and is appreciated. I will definitely be checking out the sites you listed above. Rock on and keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88