It's a beautiful misty morning in Bali - HDR explainedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

beautiful morning in Bali.jpg

I took this shot jut moments ago, looking out across the valley from my current home. Notice how I have shifted the focus slightly to bring the attention to the foliage and gate in the foreground.

It has this dreem-like feel not only because I have shifted the focus but also because I am using a technique called HDR

What is HDR?

High Dynamic Range is the combination of three of more images to create a richer final image.

Here are the three shots I captured moments ago

474A9757.jpeg

474A9756.jpeg

474A9758.jpeg

Notice how I have covered all the different ranges of light with these three shots.

For all you photographers out there it is also worth noting that I shot using a high iso and an f1.4 lens. This meant I didn't need a tripod.

What software do I use?

To merge these shots I used a program called Photomatix Pro 5

It's actually really simple to use and comes with a bunch of pre-sets which can be fine tuned to taste.

photomatix shot.jpg

I have been using this technique in my time-lapse films for over three years now and am happy to give anyone personal guidance should they require it.

Blessings to you all and enjoy this current wave of increased rewards!

Latest version - needs tweaking.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing @samstonehill. I love HDR! I think it's a great way to reflect what we see. It looks like you enjoy imagery as much as me which is why I love this community so much. One week in and I'm here to stay!

Good man. It's a pretty awesome community to be a part of with plenty of super creative people. You will like it here :)

Thank you @samstonehill. You are 100% correct. I love it here!

Dude, nice picture. Really dream-like feeling!
Followed :)

Many thanks. Yes, the HDR effect is a kinda surreal one. And I am addicted to it as a photographer! Thanks for the follow.

Really beautiful pictures :) Great job ;)

Many thanks for saying so. Appreciate the comment :)

I like your photos are wonderful I appreciate good photos!

Thanks very much. I appreciate the comment. And will do my best to keep producing awesome shots for you :)

I used this a little bit a long time ago. Do you ever have issues with the photos coming out blurry afterwards?

I do have a problem if there is not enough light and the long exposures lead to camera shake. But the software I uses accounts for any movement between the three shots and generally does a pretty good job at fixing HDR related issues.

Wow..great shot...& beautiful..view

Thanks very much. Appreciate the comment :)

Welcome my dear friend

Looking at your photos i still got lots to learn! Been using lightroom since a little while.

Keep up that great work!

Thanks very much for the comment. Yes, I also use lightroom from time to time but mostly it is all about HDR for me now, so software like Photomatix is essential.

There is a trail version you can download for free.

Awesome, will be trying it! Thank you for the tip!

Is the HDR technique obsolete in newer high dynamic range cameras like Canon 5D mark IV or better?
Lovely shots all the same! :)

I shoot on a Canon 5D mk IV and was not aware the camera had an inbuilt HDR feature?

wow amazing travel to bali in indonesia

Yes, it is pretty amazing here! I love it a lot :)

What a great place to stay...what a view last thing at night, and to wake to. It certainly has a wonderful calming healing effect.

It is the sound and the smell that is indescribably at times. And the flashing green fireflies which fly up from the jungle at night turn it into a scene from Avatar :)

But yes, very calming indeed. Good for meditation. Before the kids wake up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48