Feathered Friday - Photographing Birds in Costa Rica

in #photography5 years ago

Happy Feathered Friday!

Big thanks to @melinda10100 for her #featheredfriday tag. Birds are truly delightful to watch in nature - if a little difficult to photograph!

As my bird book of Costa Rica has multiple pages of yellow birds in it, identification can be difficult /dubious. this little beauty below I think is a Tropical Kingbird. If he isn't, I am sure he will forgive my mistake. He is certainly a pretty little thing.

IMG_0195.jpg

IMG_0213.jpg

IMG_0208.jpg

Here is a different yellow bird and I think he is a Whiskered Puffbird. He just would not keep still but if you look closely you will see his whiskers. I don't think they come much cuter than this!

IMG_1416.jpg

A Blue Dacnis in a Heliconia flower.

IMG_0392 2.jpg

And lastly for today The Roadside Hawk. I see these a lot but their beauty never ceases to amaze me.

IMG_0636.jpg

IMG_0647.jpg

The jungle is a cacophony of bird songs, shrieks and squawks that resounds 24 hours of the day. So many of these birds you may never get to see through the overgrown jungle or in the tallest trees but their songs are fascinating to tune into.
There are many I would love to photograph but they fly by in plain sight only to disappear into the sea of green all around. Such is the wonder of life in the jungle. I have never spent so many-hours as I have in Costa Rica just staring into trees squinting, searching, hoping to catch sight of some bird or other, camera in hand.... but hey - there are worse ways to spend your time.

Have a wonderful weekend !

IMG_3085.jpg

Sort:  

So colorful and beautiful birds 😍

Hi @ sallybeth23!! What beautiful pictures, the first bird is impressive its head of different color to its yellow body is very curious. Regards!!

thank you so much, nice to hear from you

Those are great pictures. The one of the Blue Dacnis is really nice. The color is amazing, especially against the red and orange of the flower. That's a really nice shot.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you so much. I really appreciate quality comments ;)

They are beauties .. See the sternness in the hawks eyes...

Beautiful photos. I love the blue Dacnis. I tried and tried to capture a photo of a fantastic bird on Sunday but was unsuccessful. These shots are really nice.

Thanks so much @bethvalverde - I take hundreds of very bad bird photos. Just never stop taking them and sooner or later the law of averages says you will get some good shots too. 😉

That first yellow one is so pretty!

Thanks so much for commenting. I appreciate it.

Gorgeous shots of the birds.... and that last one of the white hibiscus, they're quite rare, even here! Happy Sunday, @sallybeth23!! :)

thank you so much. I didn't know the white hibiscus is rare, sooooo pretty!

STUNNING wildlife - thank you Sallybeth!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thank you sallybeth23! You've just received an upvote of 44% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Beautiful photography

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43